

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

TUESDAY 2ND JULY 2013, ROOM 21, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS, BALLYMISCAW, STORMONT

Present: Mr Pat Sheehan (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Roy Beggs

Mr Gregory Campbell Mr Stewart Dickson Mr Paul Givan Mr Simon Hamilton Mr Raymond McCartney Mr Conall McDevitt Mr Seán Rogers Ms Caitríona Ruane

Apologies: Mr Stephen Moutray

In Attendance: Mr John Simmons (Assembly Clerk)

Ms Ursula McCanny (Assistant Assembly Clerk)

Mr Jonathan Watson (Clerical Supervisor) Mr Joseph Westland (Clerical Supervisor)

The meeting opened at 10.32 a.m. in public session.

1. Apologies

Apologies are detailed above.

2. Minutes of the last meeting

Agreed: The Committee agreed the minutes of the Committee meeting held on 25th June 2013.

3. Matters Arising

The Deputy Chairperson reminded Members that the debate on the Report on D'Hondt, Community Designation and Provisions for Opposition was scheduled to start later in the day, at 1.45pm.

The Deputy Chairperson advised Members that a note of the issues discussed at the Chairpersons' Liaison Group meeting on 18 June 2013 was tabled for Members' information.

4. Topic of Committee's Next Review

The Deputy Chairperson reminded Members that the Chairperson wrote to the Party Leaders and Independent Members of the Assembly on 21 May 2013 regarding their priorities for the Committee's next review and sought responses by 13 June 2013.

The Deputy Chairperson advised the Committee that they had the option of moving into closed session for this discussion.

Agreed: To move into closed session.

The Committee moved into closed session at 10.35 a.m.

The Committee discussed the responses received regarding the topic of the Committee's next review.

Ms Caitríona Ruane joined the meeting at 10.42 a.m.

Mr Raymond McCartney left the meeting at 10.55 a.m.

Mr Roy Beggs left the meeting at 10.57 a.m.

Mr Paul Givan joined the meeting at 10.58 a.m.

Agreed: The Committee agreed that secretariat staff should compile information on the topics discussed and present the information at the Committee's next meeting.

The Committee moved into open session at 11.10 a.m.

5. Any Other Business

Agreed: The Committee agreed to delegate authority to the Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson during periods of recess to submit views on the releasing or withholding of information in any non-routine / contentious FoI requests received. The Committee would be advised of any such requests at the first available meeting following the recess period.

There were no other items of business.

6. Date, Time and Place of next Meeting

The next meeting of the Assembly and Executive Review Committee will be held on Tuesday $10^{\rm th}$ September at 10.30 a.m. in room 21.

The Deputy Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 11.11 a.m.

Mr Pat Sheehan, Deputy Chairperson Assembly and Executive Review Committee