

Northern Ireland Assembly

DRAFT MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

TUESDAY 25TH JUNE 2013, ROOM 21, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS, BALLYMISCAW, STORMONT

| Present: | Mr Pat Sheehan (Deputy Chairperson) Mr Roy Beggs Mr Stewart Dickson Mr Paul Givan Mr Simon Hamilton Mr Raymond McCartney Mr Conall McDevitt Ms Caitríona Ruane |
|------------|---|
| Apologies: | Mr Stephen Moutray |

| ripologies. | Mi Stephen Mouldy | |
|----------------|--|---|
| In Attendance: | Mr John Simmons Ms Ursula McCanny Mr Joseph Westland | (Assembly Clerk) (Assistant Assembly Clerk) (Clerical Supervisor) |

The meeting opened at 10.33 a.m. in public session.

1. Apologies

Apologies are detailed above.

2. Minutes of the last meeting

Agreed: The Committee noted the minutes of the Committee meeting held on 18^{th} June 2013.

Mr Paul Givan joined the meeting at 10.34 a.m.

3. Matters Arising

Information was tabled regarding tablet devices for electronic Committee packs which the Commttee will begin formally after summer recess.

4. **Report on D'Hondt, Community Designation and Provisions for Opposition**

The Deputy Chairperson advised Members that the Committee's Report on it Review of D'Hondt, Community Designation and Provisions for Opposition, agreed at the 18th June meeting, is scheduled to be debated on 2nd July 2013, with an indicative timing of 3.00pm. Copies of the embargoed Report will be circulated to Members in advance of the debate.

5. Topic of Committee's Next Review

The Deputy Chairperson reminded Members that the Chairperson wrote to the Party Leaders and Independent Members of the Assembly on 21 May 2013 regarding their priorities for the Committee's next review and sought responses by 13 June 2013.

The Committee noted the responses received from the Alliance Party, Sinn Féin, the UK Independence Party, the Ulster Unionist Party and the TUV.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to return to this issue at its next meeting, pending receipt of responses from the DUP and the SDLP.

6. Any Other Business

There were no other items of business.

7. Date, Time and Place of next Meeting

The next meeting of the Assembly and Executive Review Committee will be held on Tuesday 2nd July 2013, at 10.30 am in Room 21, Parliament Buildings.

Ms Caitríona Ruane joined the meeting at 10.38 a.m.

The Deputy Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 10.38 a.m.

Mr Pat Sheehan, Deputy Chairperson Assembly and Executive Review Committee