

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

TUESDAY 18^{TH} JUNE 2013, ROOM 29, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS, BALLYMISCAW, STORMONT

Present: Mr Stephen Moutray (Chairperson)

Mr Roy Beggs

Mr Gregory Campbell
Mr Stewart Dickson
Mr Paul Givan
Mr Simon Hamilton
Mr Raymond McCartney
Mr Conall McDevitt
Mr Seán Rogers
Ms Caitríona Ruane
Mr Pat Sheehan

Apologies: None.

In Attendance: Mr John Simmons (Assembly Clerk)

Ms Ursula McCanny (Assistant Assembly Clerk)

Mr Jonathan Watson (Clerical Supervisor)
Mr Joseph Westland (Clerical Supervisor)

The meeting opened at 10.35 a.m. in public session.

1. Apologies

There were no apologies.

2. Minutes of the last meeting

Agreed: The Committee agreed the minutes of the Committee meeting held on 11th June 2013.

3. Matters Arising

There were no matters arising.

4. D'Hondt, Community Designation and Provisions for Opposition

The Chairperson reminded Members that, following the discussion at the 11th June Committee meeting, a revised version of the main body of the draft Report on the Review of D'Hondt, Community Designation and Provisions for Opposition was included in the meeting folder.

The Chairperson advised the Committee that they had the option of moving into closed session for discussion of the final draft Report.

Agreed: To move into closed session.

The Committee moved into closed session at 10.36 a.m.

The Committee considered the final draft of the Report on its Review of D'Hondt, Community Designation and Provisions for Opposition.

Ms Caitríona Ruane and Mr Raymond McCartney joined the meeting at 10.36 am

Mr Seán Rogers joined the meeting at 10.40 a.m.

The Chairperson left the meeting at 11.16 a.m.

The Deputy Chairperson took the Chair at 11.16 a.m.

Mr Paul Givan joined the meeting at 11.19 a.m.

Mr Raymond McCartney left the meeting at 11.25 a.m.

Mr Simon Hamiliton left the meeting at 11.29 a.m.

The Committee moved into open session at 11.30 a.m.

The Deputy Chairperson advised the Committee that the purpose of this session was to allow the Committee to agree the final draft of the Report on the Review of D'Hondt, Community Designation and Provisions for Opposition and the draft motion for Assembly Plenary debate on the Report.

Agreed: That the covering pages and the 'Introduction' section stand part of the Report.

Agreed: That the 'Committee's Approach to the Review' section stands part of the Report.

- Agreed: That the 'Committee Consideration' section stands part of the Report.
- Agreed: That the 'Committee Analysis and Conclusions' section stands part of the Report.
- Agreed: That the 'Executive Summary' section stands part of the Report.
- Agreed: That Appendix 1 of the Report, the Extracts of the Minutes of Proceedings relating to the Review, stands part of the Report.
- Agreed: That Appendix 2 of the Report, the Minutes of Evidence (Hansards) relating to the Review, stands part of the Report.
- Agreed: That Appendix 3 of the Report, the Stakeholder list and Stakeholder 'Call for Evidence' paper, stands part of the Report.
- Agreed: That Appendix 4 of the Report, Table of Key Points of Stakeholder Submissions and the full copies of stakeholders' submissions, stands part of the Report.
- Agreed: That Appendix 5 of the Report, Correspondence and Other Papers relating to the Review, stands part of the Report.
- Agreed: That Appendix 6 of the Report, Research and Information Service Papers relating to the Review, stands part of the Report.
- Agreed: That the Committee Secretariat make any changes to typos and the format of the Report as and when necessary, as these have no effect on the substance of the Report and are purely for formatting and accuracy of text purposes.
- Agreed: That the Deputy Chairperson of the Committee approve the extract of the minutes of proceedings from today's meeting for inclusion into the Report.
- Agreed: That that the first edition of today's Hansard record of the Review be included in the Report.
- Agreed: That the Committee Secretariat forwards an embargoed, electronic version of the Report as soon as it becomes available with an appropriate covering letter from the Chairperson to the Secretary of State, First Minister and deputy First Minister.
- *Agreed:* The wording of the motion for debate in Assembly Plenary to be scheduled in Assembly Plenary on 1st or 2nd July 2013 (subject to agreement by the Business Committee).
- Agreed: A Media Operational Notice is issued prior to the debate.
- Agreed: To order the Report to be printed and that the Report be embargoed until the debate scheduled in Assembly Plenary.

Agreed: That the number of printed copies of the Report be kept to a minimum in the interest of efficiency.

Agreed: That a manuscript copy of the Report be laid with the Business Office by close Wednesday, 19th June 2013.

5. Initial Consideration of Topic of Committee's Next Review

The Deputy Chairperson reminded Members that the Chairperson wrote to the Party Leaders and Independent Members of the Assembly on 21 May 2013 regarding their priorities for the Committee's next review and sought responses by 13 June 2013.

The Committee noted the responses received from the Alliance Party, Sinn Féin, the UK Independence Party and the Ulster Unionist Party.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to return to this issue at its next meeting, and Members whose Party Leaders had not responded were asked to contact them regarding a response, to be sent to the Committee Secretariat by 20th June 2013.

6. Forward Work Programme

The Deputy Chairperson advised the Committee that the purpose of this agenda item was to note the note the Committee's final meeting of this session, scheduled for 25th June 2013.

Agreed: The Committee agreed that they were content with the Forward Work Programme as drafted.

7. Any Other Business

There were no other items of business.

8. Date, Time and Place of next Meeting

The next meeting of the Assembly and Executive Review Committee will be held on Tuesday 25th June 2013, at 10.30 am in Room 21, Parliament Buildings.

The Deputy Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 11.37 a.m.

Mr Pat Sheehan, Deputy Chairperson Assembly and Executive Review Committee