

Northern Ireland Assembly

## MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

# TUESDAY 11<sup>TH</sup> JUNE 2013, ROOM 21, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS, BALLYMISCAW, STORMONT

Present:	Mr Stephen Moutray (Chairperson) Mr Roy Beggs Mr Gregory Campbell Mr Stewart Dickson Mr Paul Givan Mr Simon Hamilton Mr Raymond McCartney Ms Caitríona Ruane						
					Mr Pat Sheehan		
				Apologies:	Mr Conall McDevitt		
					Mr Seán Rogers		
				T A 1			
				In Attendance:	Mr John Simmons	(Assembly Clerk)	
Ma Uraula McConny	(Aggistant Aggambly Clark						

In Attendance:	Mr John Simmons	(Assembly Clerk)
	Ms Ursula McCanny	(Assistant Assembly Clerk)
	Mr Jonathan Watson	(Clerical Supervisor)
	Mr Joseph Westland	(Clerical Supervisor)

The meeting opened at 10.33 a.m. in public session.

## 1. Apologies

Apologies are detailed above.

#### 2. Minutes of the last meeting

Agreed: The Committee agreed the minutes of the Committee meeting held on  $4^{\text{th}}$  June 2013.

#### 3. Matters Arising

There were no matters arising.

#### 4. D'Hondt, Community Designation and Provisions for Opposition

The Chairperson reminded Members that a copy of the main body of the draft Report on the Review of D'Hondt, Community Designation and Provisions for Opposition was circulated to Members in advance of the meeting, for discussion and agreement.

The Chairperson advised the Committee that they had the option of moving into closed session for discussion of the draft Report.

Agreed: To move into closed session.

The Committee moved into closed session at 10.34 a.m.

The Committee discussed the draft Report.

Mr Simon Hamilton joined the meeting at 10.35 a.m.

Mr Gregory Campbell joined the meeting at 10.38 a.m.

Ms Caitríona Ruane left the meeting at 10.45 a.m.

Mr Pat Sheehan left the meeting at 11.23 a.m.

*Mr* Roy Beggs left the meeting at 11.28 a.m.

Mr Gregory Campbell left the meeting at 11.32 a.m.

*Agreed*: The Committee agreed that a further draft Report should be produced for Committee discussion and agreement at its next meeting.

The Committee moved into open session at 11.51 a.m.

#### 5. Forward Work Programme

The Chairperson advised the Committee that the purpose of this agenda item was to note the upcoming Committee meetings scheduled for June, with the current Review planned to be completed by the end of June.

*Agreed*: The Committee agreed that they were content with the Forward Work Programme as drafted.

The Chairperson reminded Members that he wrote to the Party Leaders and Independent Members of the assembly on 21 May 2013 regarding their priorities for the Committee's next review and sought responses by 18 June 2013.

*Agreed*: Members agreed to contact their Party Leaders regarding responses to the Chairperson's request for information on what issue or issues they would like to see prioritised for review by AERC in the coming autumn 2013 session, with responses to be sent to the Committee Secretariat by 12<sup>th</sup> June.

#### 6. Any Other Business

There were no other items of business.

### 7. Date, Time and Place of next Meeting

The next meeting of the Assembly and Executive Review Committee will be held on Tuesday 18<sup>th</sup> June 2013, at 10.30 am in Room 29, Parliament Buildings.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 11.52 a.m.

Mr Stephen Moutray, Chairperson Assembly and Executive Review Committee