

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

TUESDAY 4^{TH} JUNE 2013, ROOM 21, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS, BALLYMISCAW, STORMONT

Present: Mr Stephen Moutray (Chairperson)

Mr Roy Beggs

Mr Gregory Campbell

Mr Paul Givan

Mr Raymond McCartney Mr Conall McDevitt Mr Seán Rogers Ms Caitríona Ruane Mr Pat Sheehan

Apologies: Mr Simon Hamilton

In Attendance: Mr John Simmons (Assembly Clerk)

Ms Ursula McCanny (Assistant Assembly Clerk)

Mr Joseph Westland (Clerical Supervisor)

The meeting opened at 11.05 am in public session.

1. Apologies

Apologies are detailed above.

2. Minutes of the last meeting

Agreed: The Committee agreed the minutes of the Committee meeting held on 21st May 2013.

3. Matters Arising

There were no matters arising.

4. D'Hondt, Community Designation and Provisions for Opposition

Members noted the response to the Committee's Call for Evidence Paper received from Mr John McCallister and Mr Basil McCrea, and an updated table listing the Key Points from all of the Call for Evidence responses.

Members noted the information provided on financial provisions to Parties in the NI Assembly and the Scottish Parliament, which included modelling for a five-Member Party, as requested at the Committee's meeting on 21st May 2013.

The Chairperson advised the Committee that they had the option of moving into closed session for discussion of the key issues relating to the Review.

Agreed: To move into closed session.

The Committee moved into closed session at 11.06 am.

The Committee discussed key issues relating to the Review.

Ms Caitríona Ruane joined the meeting at 11.10 am.

Mr Raymond McCartney left the meeting at 11.25 am.

Mr Paul Givan joined the meeting at 11.33 am.

Agreed: The Committee agreed that a draft Report should be produced for Committee discussion at its next meeting.

The Committee moved into open session at 11.41 am.

5. Forward Work Programme

The Chairperson advised the Committee that the purpose of this agenda item was to note the upcoming Committee meetings scheduled for June, with the current Review planned to be completed by the end of June.

Agreed: The Committee agreed that they were content with the Forward Work Programme as drafted.

The Chairperson reminded Members that he wrote to the Party Leaders and Independent Members of the assembly on 21 May 2013 regarding their priorities for the Committee's next review and sought responses by 18 June 2013.

Agreed: Members agreed to contact their Party Leaders regarding responses to the Chairperson's request for information on what issue or issues they would like to see prioritised for review by AERC in the coming autumn 2013 session.

6. Any Other Business

There were no other items of business.

7. Date, Time and Place of next Meeting

The next meeting of the Assembly and Executive Review Committee will be held on Tuesday 11th June 2013, at 10.30 am in Room 21, Parliament Buildings.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 11.43 am.

Mr Stephen Moutray, Chairperson Assembly and Executive Review Committee