

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

TUESDAY 21ST MAY 2013, ROOM 29, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS, BALLYMISCAW, STORMONT

Present: Mr Stephen Moutray (Chairperson)

Mr Roy Beggs Mr Stewart Dickson Mr Paul Givan

Mr Simon Hamilton Mr Raymond McCartney Mr Conall McDevitt Ms Caitríona Ruane

Apologies: Mr Seán Rogers

Mr Pat Sheehan

In Attendance: Mr John Simmons (Assembly Clerk)

Ms Ursula McCanny (Assistant Assembly Clerk)

Mr Jonathan Watson (Clerical Supervisor)
Mr Joseph Westland (Clerical Supervisor)

The meeting opened at 11.04 am in public session.

1. Apologies

Apologies are detailed above.

2. Minutes of the last meeting

Agreed: The Committee agreed the minutes of the Committee meeting held on 7th May 2013.

3. Matters Arising

There were no matters arising.

4. Northern Ireland (Miscellaneous Provisions) Bill

Members noted the extracts from the Government Response to the NI Affairs Committee Pre-Legislative Scrutiny Report on the Northern Ireland (Miscellaneous Provisions) Bill, which are relevant to the Committee's current and previous Reviews.

5. D'Hondt, Community Designation and Provisions for Opposition

Members noted the responses to the Committee's Call for Evidence Paper received from the Alliance Party, DUP and SDLP, and a table listing the Key Points from all of the Call for Evidence responses.

The Chairperson advised Members that, as the Committee was to receive a legal briefing from Assembly Legal Service on an issue relevant to the current Review, and it would be appropriate for the Committee to go into closed session for the duration of the briefing and any subsequent discussion.

Agreed: To move into closed session.

The Committee moved into closed session at 11.06 am.

The Chairperson welcomed a representative from Assembly Legal Service and invited her to join the meeting.

The Assembly Legal Service representative joined the meeting at 11.06 am.

Ms Caitríona Ruane joined the meeting at 11.13 am.

Ms Caitríona Ruane left the meeting at 11.20 am.

Mr Paul Givan left the meeting at 11.33 am.

The Chairperson thanked the Assembly Legal Adviser.

Mr Roy Beggs left the meeting at 12.04 pm.

The Committee discussed key issues relating to the Review.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to continue its discussion on this at the next meeting.

The Committee moved into open session at 12.09 pm.

6. Forward Work Programme

The Chairperson advised the Committee that the purpose of this agenda item was to note the upcoming Committee meetings scheduled for June, with the current Review planned to be completed by the end of June.

Agreed: The Committee agreed that they were content with the Forward Work Programme as drafted.

Agreed: The Committee agreed that they were content for the Chairperson to write to Party Leaders and Independent Members of the Assembly requesting information on what issue or issues they would like to see prioritised for review by AERC in the coming autumn 2013 session.

7. Any Other Business

There were no other items of business.

8. Date, Time and Place of next Meeting

The next meeting of the Assembly and Executive Review Committee will be held on Tuesday 4th June 2013, at 11.00 am in Room 21, Parliament Buildings.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 12.10 pm.

Mr Stephen Moutray, Chairperson Assembly and Executive Review Committee