

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

TUESDAY 19^{TH} MARCH 2013, ROOM 29, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS, BALLYMISCAW, STORMONT

Present: Mr Stephen Moutray (Chairperson)

Mr Roy Beggs

Mr Simon Hamilton
Mr Raymond McCartney
Mr Conall McDevitt
Ms Caitríona Ruane
Mr Pat Sheehan

Apologies: Mr Stewart Dickson

Mr Paul Givan Mr Seán Rogers

In Attendance: Mr John Simmons (Assembly Clerk)

Ms Ursula McCanny (Assistant Assembly Clerk)

Ms Andrienne Magee (Clerical Officer)
Mr Jonathan Watson (Clerical Supervisor)

Professor Derek Birrell, University of Ulster

The meeting opened at 10.45 am in public session.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to move to agenda item 4 and to take Professor Birrell's briefing before returning to agenda item 1.

1. Apologies

Apologies are detailed above.

2. Minutes of the last meeting

Agreed: The Committee agreed the minutes of the Committee meeting held on 5th March 2013.

3. Matters Arising

The Committee noted the letter of 5th March 2013 from the Secretary of State drawing attention to the Summary of Responses to her recent consultation.

The Committee noted correspondence based on an article published in several local newspapers last week, which suggested that the Committee's recent signposting advertisement should have been placed in local newspapers. The Committee noted that a response was being prepared and would be circulated to the Committee in due course.

4. D'Hondt, Community Designation and Provisions for Opposition

The Chairperson reminded the Committee that the purpose of this agenda item was for the Committee to consider oral evidence on its Review of d'Hondt, community designation and provisions for opposition.

The Chairperson invited Professor Derek Birrell from the University Ulster to join the meeting.

Professor Derek Birrell joined the meeting at 10.46 am.

Professor Birrell briefed the Committee on his written submission to the Committee's Review.

This was followed by a question and answer session.

Mr Pat Sheehan joined the meeting at 10.51 am.

Mr Raymond McCartney left the meeting at 10.52 am.

Mr Roy Beggs joined the meeting at 10.53 am.

Mr Simon Hamilton left the meeting at 10.54 am.

Mr Simon Hamilton rejoined the meeting at 10.57 am.

Ms Caitríona Ruane left the meeting at 10.57 am.

Mr Conall McDevitt joined the meeting at 11.01am.

Mr Pat Sheehan left the meeting at 11.22 am.

Mr Pat Sheehan rejoined the meeting at 11.23 am.

The Chairperson thanked Professor Birrell for his oral evidence to the Committee.

Professor Birrell left the meeting at 11.24 am.

5. Forward Work Programme

The Committee noted the scheduled oral evidence session for the next Committee meeting and the upcoming Committee visit to the Scottish Parliament, which has been scheduled for Wednesday 17th April 2013.

6. Any Other Business

There were no other items of business.

7. Date, Time and Place of next Meeting

The next meeting of the Assembly and Executive Review Committee will be held on Tuesday 9th April, at 10.00 am in Room 21, Parliament Buildings.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 11.25 am.

Mr Stephen Moutray Chairperson Assembly and Executive Review Committee