

Northern Ireland Assembly

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

TUESDAY 5TH MARCH 2013, SENATE CHAMBER, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS, BALLYMISCAW, STORMONT

Present:	Mr Stephen Moutray (Chain Mr Roy Beggs Mr Stewart Dickson Mr Paul Givan Mr Simon Hamilton Mr Raymond McCartney Mr Conall McDevitt Ms Caitríona Ruane Mr Pat Sheehan	person)
Apologies:	Mr Gregory Campbell Mr Seán Rogers	
In Attendance:	-	(Assembly Clerk) (Assistant Assembly Clerk) (Clerical Officer) (Clerical Supervisor) rudden, Queen's University Belfast , University of Pennsylvania

The meeting opened at 10.06 am in public session.

1. Apologies

Apologies are detailed above.

The Chairperson expressed the Committee's thanks to its outgoing Member, Mr John McCallister.

Agreed: To send Mr McCallister a letter thanking him for his contribution to the Committee.

The Chairperson welcomed, in his absence, the Committee's new Member, Mr Seán Rogers.

2. Minutes of the last meeting

Agreed: The Committee agreed the minutes of the Committee meeting held on 26th February 2013.

3. Matters Arising

There were no matters arising.

4. D'Hondt, Community Designation and Provisions for Opposition

The Chairperson reminded the Committee that the purpose of this agenda item was for the Committee to consider oral evidence on its Review of d'Hondt, community designation and provisions for opposition.

The Chairperson invited Professor Christopher McCrudden from Queen's University Belfast and Professor Brendan O'Leary from the University of Pennsylvania, to join the meeting.

Professor Christopher McCrudden and Professor Brendan O'Leary joined the meeting at 10.07 am.

Professor Christopher McCrudden and Professor Brendan O'Leary briefed the Committee on their written submission to the Committee's Review.

This was followed by a question and answer session.

Mr Roy Beggs joined the meeting at 10.08 am.

Mr Pat Sheehan joined the meeting at 10.13 am.

Ms Caitríona Ruane joined the meeting at 10.14 am.

Mr Roy Beggs left the meeting at 10.23 am.

Mr Stewart Dickson left the meeting at 10.23 am.

Mr Pat Sheehan left the meeting at 10.34 am.

Ms Caitríona Ruane left the meeting at 10.59 am.

The Chairperson thanked Professor McCrudden and Professor O'Leary for their oral evidence to the Committee.

5. Forward Work Programme

The Chairperson advised Members that the purpose of this agenda item was to note the scheduled oral evidence sessions for the next two Committee meetings and the upcoming Committee visit to the Scottish Parliament, which has been scheduled for Wednesday 17th April 2013.

The Chairperson asked Members to inform Committee Secretariat as soon as possible, and no later than by the end of the week, as to whether they plan to participate in the visit.

6. Any Other Business

There were no other items of business.

7. Date, Time and Place of next Meeting

The next meeting of the Assembly and Executive Review Committee will be held on Tuesday 19th March, at 10.30 am in Room 21, Parliament Buildings.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 11.07 am.

Mr Stephen Moutray Chairperson Assembly and Executive Review Committee