

Northern Ireland Assembly

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

TUESDAY 26TH FEBRUARY 2013, ROOM 21, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS, BALLYMISCAW, STORMONT

Present:	Mr Stephen Moutray (Chain Mr Roy Beggs Mr Gregory Campbell Mr Stewart Dickson Mr Paul Givan Mr Simon Hamilton Mr John McCallister Mr Raymond McCartney Mr Conall McDevitt Ms Caitríona Ruane Mr Pat Sheehan	person)
Apologies:	None.	
In Attendance:	Mr John Simmons Ms Ursula McCanny Ms Andrienne Magee	(Assembly Clerk) (Assistant Assembly Clerk) (Clerical Officer)
	Professor Rick Wilford	Queen's University Belfast

The meeting opened at 10.34 am in public session.

1. Apologies

None.

2. Minutes of the last meeting

Agreed: The Committee agreed the minutes of the Committee meeting held on 12th February 2013.

3. Matters Arising

The Committee noted the letter from the Secretary of State for Northern Ireland to the Speaker dated 11th February 2013, regarding the recent NIO 'Consultation on Measures to Improve the Operation of the Northern Ireland Assembly'. The Committee also noted the summary of responses to the consultation, which it had requested.

The Committee noted the response from the OFMDFM Committee to its 'Call for Evidence' request, indicating that its Members were content for their Parties to make submissions to AERC on this matter.

There were no further matters arising.

4. D'Hondt, Community Designation and Provisions for Opposition

The Chairperson reminded the Committee that the purpose of this agenda item was for the Committee to consider oral evidence on its Review of d'Hondt, community designation and provisions for opposition.

The Chairperson invited Professor Rick Wilford, Director of Legislative Studies and Practice at Queen's University Belfast, to join the meeting.

Professor Rick Wilford joined the meeting at 10.35 am.

Professor Rick Wilford briefed the Committee on his written submission to the Committee's Review.

This was followed by a question and answer session.

Mr Raymond McCartney joined the meeting at 10.41 am.

Ms Caitríona Ruane joined the meeting at 10.44 am.

Mr Conall McDevitt left the meeting at 11.01 am.

Mr Gregory Campbell joined the meeting at 11.02 am.

Ms Caitríona Ruane left the meeting at 11.03 am.

Mr John McCallister joined the meeting at 11.16 am.

Mr Paul Givan joined the meeting at 11.21 am.

The Chairperson thanked Professor Wilford for his oral evidence to the Committee.

Professor Rick Wilford left the meeting at 11.26 am.

5. Forward Work Programme

The Chairperson advised Members that that the purpose of this agenda item was to give consideration to the timeline for the Committee's current Review, including oral evidence sessions in March and April, and a possible visit to the Scottish Parliament on Wednesday 17th April 2013.

The Chairperson asked Members if they were content with the forward work programme as drafted.

Agreed: The Committee agreed the Forward Work Programme.

6. Any Other Business

There were no other items of business.

7. Date, Time and Place of next Meeting

The next meeting of the Assembly and Executive Review Committee will be held on Tuesday 5th March, at 10.30 am in the Senate Chamber, Parliament Buildings.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 11.27 am.

Mr Stephen Moutray Chairperson Assembly and Executive Review Committee