

Northern Ireland Assembly

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

TUESDAY 15TH JANUARY 2013, ROOM 21, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS, BALLYMISCAW, STORMONT

Mr Stephen Moutray (Chairperson) Mr Roy Beggs Mr Gregory Campbell Mr Paul Givan Mr Simon Hamilton Mr John McCallister Mr Raymond McCartney Mr Conall McDevitt Ms Caitríona Ruane
Ms Caitríona Ruane
Mr Pat Sheehan

Apologies:	None.	
In Attendance:	Mr John Simmons Ms Ursula McCanny Mr Joe Westland	(Assembly Clerk) (Assistant Assembly Clerk) (Clerical Supervisor)

The meeting opened at 15.05 pm in public session.

1. Apologies

None.

2. Minutes of the last meeting

Agreed: The Committee agreed the minutes of the Committee meeting held on 4^{th} December 2012.

3. Matters Arising

There were no matters arising.

4. D'Hondt, Community Designation and the Creation of an Opposition

The Chairperson reminded members that at the meeting of 4th December 2012, the Committee discussed its next review, which will focus on d'Hondt, community designation and the creation of an opposition. On the basis of that discussion, the Committee Secretariat provided an initial draft 'Call for Evidence' paper, which included draft Terms of Reference and the key issues and questions for stakeholders.

The Chairperson advised members that the Committee had agreed at the meeting of 4 December 2012 to spend the next few meetings discussing the issues that may arise in the Review in more detail. The Chairperson reminded Members that the Committee had the option of moving into closed session for this discussion.

Agreed: To move into closed session.

The Committee moved into closed session at 15.08 pm.

Mr John McCallister joined the meeting at 15.08 pm.

The Clerk of the Committee proceeded to outline the key aspect of the paper and the Committee then discussed the overall paper, the draft Terms of Reference and other issues relating to the Review.

Ms Caitríona Ruane left the meeting at 15.10 pm.

Ms Caitríona Ruane rejoined the meeting at 15.13 pm.

Ms Caitríona Ruane left the meeting at 15.14 pm.

Ms Caitríona Ruane rejoined the meeting at 15.20 pm.

Mr Conall McDevitt left the meeting at 15.23 pm.

Mr Conall McDevitt rejoined the meeting at 15.24 pm

Agreed: To continue the discussions at the Committee's next meeting.

The Chairman proposed to send a letter to the Secretary of State for Northern Ireland, requesting that a summary of the outcome of the recent NIO consultation on 'Measures to improve the operation of the Northern Ireland Assembly' be forwarded to the Committee as soon as it is available.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to send the letter to the Secretary of State.

The Chairman proposed that the meeting moved into open session.

Agreed: To move into open session.

The Committee moved into open session at 15.26 pm.

Mr Roy Beggs left the meeting at 15.26 pm.

5. Forward Work Programme

The Chairperson advised Members that that the purpose of this agenda item was to give consideration to the initial timeline for its Review.

The Chairperson asked the Committee if they were content with the forward work programme as drafted.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to the Forward Work Programme with one meeting date change.

Mr Conall McDevitt left the meeting at 15.27 pm.

6. Any Other Business

There were no other items of business.

7. Date, Time and Place of next Meeting

The next meeting of the Assembly and Executive Review Committee will be held on Tuesday 29th January, at 11.00 am in Room 21, Parliament Buildings.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 15.28 pm.

Mr Stephen Moutray Chairperson Assembly and Executive Review Committee