

Northern Ireland Assembly

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

TUESDAY 09 OCTOBER 2012, ROOM 21, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS, BALLYMISCAW, STORMONT

Present:	Mr Simon Hamilton (Acting Chairperson) Mr Roy Beggs Mr Gregory Campbell Mr Paul Givan	
	Mr John McCallister	
	Mr Raymond McCartney Mr Conall McDevitt	
	Ms Caitríona Ruane	
Apologies:	Mr Stephen Moutray Mr Pat Sheehan	
In Attendance:	Mr John Simmons Ms Ursula McCanny Mr Andrienne Magee Mr Christopher McNickle	(Assembly Clerk) (Assistant Assembly Clerk) (Clerical Officer) (Clerical Officer)

The meeting opened at 11.03 am in public session with the Clerk of the Committee in the Chair.

In the absence of the Chairperperson and Deputy Chairperson, the Clerk asked for nominations for a Member to act as temporary Chaiperson for this meeting.

Mr Roy Beggs moved that Mr Simon Hamilton do take the Chair of the Committee.

Mr Gregory Campbell seconded the motion.

No other nominations were made.

1. Apologies

Apologies are detailed above.

2. Minutes of the last meeting

Agreed: The Committee agreed the minutes of the Committee meeting held on 25th September 2012.

3. Matters Arising

There were no matters arising.

4. Review of Parts III and IV of the Northern Ireland Act in the Context of Reviewing the Size of the NI Assembly and the Number of NI Departments

The Chairperson advised the Members that the purpose of this agenda item was to consider items under Part 2 of the Committee's Review, that is, the number of NI Departments.

The Chairperson reminded the Members that the aim of the session was to continue the Committee's discussions on some of the key issues of the Review in order that they might move to an agreed position in preparation for an initial first draft of the Report.

The Chairperson reminded Members that the Committee had the option of moving into closed session to discuss aspects of the Committee's Review on the number of Departments.

Agreed: To move into closed session.

The Committee moved into closed session at 11.05 am.

Mr McCartney left the meeting at 11.06 am.

The Clerk briefed the Committee on the papers before Members.

Mr Paul Givan joined the meeting at 11.08 am.

The Committee discussed a number of matters relating to the Committee's Review on the number of Government Departments.

Agreed: To continue the discussion at the next Committee meeting.

7. Any Other Business

There were no other items of business.

8. Date, Time and Place of next Meeting

The next meeting of the Assembly and Executive Review Committee will be held on Tuesday 23rd October, at 11.00am in Room 21, Parliament Buildings.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 11.30 am.

Mr Stephen Moutray Chairperson Assembly and Executive Review Committee