

Northern Ireland Assembly

#### MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

# TUESDAY 25 SEPTEMBER 2012, ROOM 21, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS, BALLYMISCAW, STORMONT

| Present:       | Mr Stephen Moutray (Chairperson)                           |                            |
|----------------|--|----------------------------|
|                | Mr Pat Sheehan (Deputy Chairperson)                        |                            |
|                | Mr Gregory Campbell<br>Mr Stewart Dickson<br>Mr Paul Givan |                            |
|                |  |                            |
|                |  |                            |
|                | Mr Simon Hamilton  |                            |
|                | Mr John McCallister  |                            |
|                | Ms Caitríona Ruane   |                            |
| Apologies:     | Mr Roy Beggs   |                            |
|                | Mr Conall McDevitt   |                            |
| In Attendance: | Mr John Simmons  | (Assembly Clerk)           |
|                | Ms Sohui Yim   | (Assistant Assembly Clerk) |
|                | Ms Ursula McCanny  | (Assistant Assembly Clerk) |
|                | Mr Andrienne Magee   | (Clerical Officer)         |
|                | Mr Christopher McNickle                                    | (Clerical Officer)         |
|                |  |                            |

The meeting opened at 11.02 am in public session.

### 1. Apologies

Apologies are detailed above.

# 2. Minutes of the last meeting

Agreed: The Committee agreed the minutes of the Committee meeting held on  $11^{\text{th}}$  September 2012.

### 3. Matters Arising

There were no matters arising.

#### 4. Draft End of Session Report

The Chairperson referred the Committee to the draft End of Session Report for the AERC for the period of May 2011 to August 2012.

Agreed: Content with the Report and for it to be published.

### 5. Review of Parts III and IV of the Northern Ireland Act in the Context of Reviewing the Size of the NI Assembly and the Number of NI Departments

The Chairperson advised the Members that the purpose of this agenda item was to consider items under Part 2 of the Committee's Review, that is, the number of NI Departments.

The Clerk briefed the Committee on the papers before Members.

#### Mr Stewart Dickson joined the meeting at 11.05am.

The Committee noted the response letter from OFMDFM to the Committee's request for a presentation from senior OFMDFM officials regarding the Review on the number of Government Departments.

The Chairperson reminded Members that the Committee had the option of moving into closed session to discuss aspects of the Committee's Review on the number of Departments.

Agreed: To move into closed session.

The Committee moved into closed session at 11.08am.

The Committee discussed a number of matters relating to Committee's Review on the number of Government Departments.

Agreed: To continue the discussion at the next Committee meeting.

### 6. Draft Forward Work Programme

The Chairperson advised the Members that the purpose of this agenda item was to consider options for the Committee's next review work after end October 2012.

Members discussed the draft Forward Work Programme.

*Agreed:* To return to the subject of the Committee's next review work at the next Committee meeting.

Ms Caitríona Ruane left the meeting at 11.29am.

The Committee moved into open session at 11.29am.

# 7. Any Other Business

There were no other items of business.

# 8. Date, Time and Place of next Meeting

The next meeting of the Assembly and Executive Review Committee will be held on Tuesday 9<sup>th</sup> October, at 11.00am in Room 21, Parliament Buildings.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 11.30am

Mr Stephen Moutray Chairperson Assembly and Executive Review Committee