COMMITTEE FOR AGRICULTURE AND RURAL DEVELOPMENT

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

TUESDAY 24 SEPTEMBER 2013 ROOM 30, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

Present: Mr Paul Frew MLA (Chairperson)

Mr Thomas Buchanan MLA

Mr William Irwin MLA Mr Declan McAleer MLA Ms Michelle McIlveen MLA

Apologies: Mr Joe Byrne (Deputy Chairperson)

Mrs Jo-Anne Dobson MLA

Mr Ian Milne MLA

Mr Oliver McMullan MLA Mr Robin Swann MLA

In attendance: Mr Paul Carlisle, Committee Clerk

Ms Elaine Farrell, Assistant Clerk Mr Mark O'Hare, Clerical Supervisor Ms Dagmar Walgraeve Clerical Officer

1.05 p.m. The meeting commenced in Open Session

1. Apologies

Apologies are noted above.

2. Chairperson's Business

Noted: The Committee noted the invitation from Simon Coveney and

Michelle O'Neil to a reception at the National Ploughing

Championships on 25 September 2013.

3. Minutes of the meeting 17 September 2013

Agreed: The Committee agreed the draft minutes of the meeting held on

17 September 2013.

4. Financial Crisis in Farming - Oral Briefing First Trust Bank

The following representatives from First Trust Bank joined the meeting at 1.10 p.m.

Gerry McGinn, Managing Director Brian Gillian, Head of Business Banking

The representatives briefed the Committee and this was followed by a question and answer session.

1.39 p.m. Mr Buchanan joined the meeting.

5. Forward Work Programme

Agreed: The Committee agreed the draft Forward Work Programme.

6. AOB

There was no other business.

7. Date, time and place of the next meeting

The next meeting of the Committee for Agriculture and Rural Development will take place on Monday 30 September 2013 at 11.00 a.m. in Room 30, Parliament Buildings.

The meeting adjourned at 1.56 p.m.

Paul Frew, Chairperson, Committee for Agriculture and Rural Development
-----Date