AD HOC JOINT COMMITTEE TO CONSIDER THE MENTAL CAPACITY BILL

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

Monday, 14 September 2015 Room 21, Parliament Buildings

Present:	Mr Alastair Ross MLA (Chairperson) Mr Patsy McGlone MLA (Deputy Chairperson) Mrs Pam Cameron MLA Mrs Jo-Anne Dobson MLA Mr Alex Easton MLA Mr Seán Lynch MLA Mr Kieran McCarthy MLA
	Mr Raymond McCartney MLA
	Ms Rosie McCorley MLA
	Mr Neill Somerville MLA
In Attendance:	Dr Kathryn Aiken (Clerk)
	Ms Elaine Farrell (Assistant Clerk)
	Ms Sharon McGurk (Clerical Supervisor)
	Mr Craig Mealey (Clerical Supervisor)
	Mr Colin Pidgeon (Research Officer) for agenda item 5

The meeting commenced at 12.08 pm in public session.

1. Apologies

None.

2. Chairperson's Business

None.

3. Draft Minutes of the meeting on 7 September 2015

The minutes of the Committee meeting on Monday 7 September 2015 were agreed.

4. Forward Work Programme

Agreed: The Committee agreed the list of witnesses to be called for oral evidence in October 2015.

Noted: The Committee noted the Forward Work Programme.

5. Briefing from RaISe

The Research Officer joined the meeting at 12.09 p.m. and briefed the Committee on research papers regarding assessing the costs of the Bill and training costs associated with the Bill. This was followed by a question and answer session.

12.20 p.m. Mr Somerville joined the meeting.

12.21 p.m. Mr Easton joined the meeting.

6. Background papers

Noted: The Committee noted the background paper in respect of the Mental Capacity Bill.

7. Evidence session on Part 1 of the Mental Capacity Bill

The following witnesses joined the meeting at 12.33 p.m. to speak on Clauses 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 7.

Mirjam Bader, Mindwise Colin Caughey, NI Human Rights Commission Dr Gavin Davidson, NI Association of Social Workers Dr Eilionoir Flynn, The Centre for Disability, Law & Policy, University of Ireland, Galway Karen Hall, Disability Action Colin Harper, Law Centre NI John Mackle, Commissioner for Older People Mary Murnaghan, The Law Society NI Alison McCullough, Royal College of Speech & Language Therapists Elizabeth Byrne McCullough, Alzheimer's Society Sorcha McGuinness, Ni Rare Disease Partnership Dr Deirdre Shields, BMA Dr Catherine Taggart, Royal College of Psychiatrists NI

1.07 p.m. Mr Somerville left the meeting.
1.13 p.m. Mrs Cameron left the meeting.
1.22 p.m. Mr Lynch joined the meeting.
1.37 p.m. Mrs Dobson joined the meeting.
1.51 p.m. Mr McCarthy joined the meeting.
1.53 p.m. Mr McCartney left the meeting.
1.58 p.m. Mrs Dobson left the meeting.
1.59 p.m. Mr Lynch left the meeting.
2.00 p.m. Mr McCartney re-joined the meeting.

2.02 p.m. Mr Ross left the meeting and Mr McGlone took the chair. 2.04 p.m. Mr Ross re-joined the meeting.

2.06 p.m. Mr Ross resumed the chair.
2.08 p.m. Mr Easton left the meeting.
2.09 p.m. Mr McGlone left the meeting.
2.18 p.m. Mr Lynch re-joined the meeting.
2.29 p.m. Ms McCorley left the meeting.
2.37 p.m. Mr McGlone re-joined the meeting.
2.45 p.m. Mrs Dobson re-joined the meeting.

The following Departmental officials joined the meeting 2.47 p.m. and participated in a question and answer session.

Chris Matthews, DHSSPS, Director of Mental Health, Disability & Older People Alison McCaffrey, DHSSPS, Mental Capacity Bill Team.

3.14 p.m. Ms McCorley re-joined the meeting.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Department to request a written response outlining the key learning points from the Mental Capacity Act 2005.

8. Any Other Business

None.

9. Date, Time and Place of Next Meeting

The next Committee meeting will be on Monday, 21 September 2015 at 12pm in Room 30, Parliament Buildings.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 3.15 pm.

Signed: _____

Chairperson

Date: _____