AD HOC JOINT COMMITTEE TO CONSIDER THE MENTAL CAPACITY BILL

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

Monday, 7 December 2015 Room 30, Parliament Buildings

Present: Mr Patsy McGlone MLA (Deputy Chairperson)

Mrs Pam Cameron MLA
Mrs Jo-Anne Dobson MLA
Mr Alex Easton MLA
Mr Paul Frew MLA
Mr Séan Lynch MLA
Mr Kieran McCarthy MLA
Mr Raymond McCartney MLA
Ms Rosie McCorley MLA

Apologies: Mr Alastair Ross MLA (Chairperson)

In Attendance: Dr Kathryn Aiken (Clerk)

Ms Eilis Haughey (Bill Clerk)
Ms Elaine Farrell (Assistant Clerk)
Ms Marianne Doherty (Clerical Officer)

The meeting commenced at 12.04 pm in closed session.

The following Members were in attendance: Mrs Cameron, Mr Easton, Mr Frew, Mr McCartney and Mr McGlone.

1. Committee Deliberations/Consideration of Draft Departmental and Committee Amendments

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Department on a number of issues in respect of the Mental Capacity Bill.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to request that the Bill Office drafts a number of amendments.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to request a Departmental evidence session on the proposed amendments to Clause 288.

12.12 p.m. Ms McCorley joined the meeting.

12.25 p.m. Mr McCarthy joined the meeting.

12.26 p.m. Mrs Dobson joined the meeting.

12.43 p.m. Mrs Dobson left the meeting.

12.57 p.m. Mr Lynch joined the meeting.

1.20 p.m. Mr Frew left the meeting.

1.23 p.m. Mr Frew re-joined the meeting.

1.24 p.m. Ms McCorley left the meeting.

1.28 p.m. The meeting moved into open session.

1.28 p.m. Mr McCarthy left the meeting.

2. Apologies

As above.

3. Chairperson's Business

None.

4. Draft Minutes of the meeting on Monday 30 November 2015

The minutes of the Committee meeting on Monday 30 November 2015 were agreed.

5. Forward Work Programme

Noted: The Committee noted the Forward Work Programme.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to change the date of its next meeting from 4 January 2016 to 7 January 2016.

6. Any Other Business

None.

7. Date, Time and Place of Next Meeting

The next Committee meeting will be on Thursday, 7 January 2016 at 1.00 pm in Room 21, Parliament Buildings.

The deputy Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 1.29 pm.

Signed:		
	Chairperson	
Data		