

## Committee for the Executive Office

Nick Mitford Clerk, Committee on Procedures

25 March 2020

Dear Nick

## **REVIEW OF LEGISLATIVE CONSENT MOTIONS**

At its meeting on 18 March 2020, the Committee for the Executive Office considered your memo advising that the Committee on Procedures is undertaking a review of the current procedures for Legislative Consent Motions and the relating Standing Order (42A).

The Committee noted the issues the review will cover and considered the following of relevance:

"d) review the arrangements for consultation with and consideration and reporting by committees of the proposed legislation and its outworkings".

The Committee has not dealt with any Legislative Consent Motions during this session. However, it agreed to look at its archives to identify whether there were any issues raised by previous committees.

In late 2014, the Committee for the Office of the First Minister and deputy First Minister considered the Westminster Childcare Payment Bill which included a clause extending relevant provisions of the Bill to Northern Ireland. Below is an extract from the Committee's report:

"Proposals relating to tax-free childcare were the subject of a Treasury consultation in August 2013, and OFMDFM submitted a response to that consultation. However, the Committee first became aware of the proposals at its meeting on 11 June when Members considered correspondence from the

Marie Austin, Clerk Committee for the Executive Office Room 346, Parliament Buildings, Ballymiscaw, Stormont, Belfast, BT4 3XX Telephone: (028) 9052 0302

E-mail: marie.austin@niassembly.gov.uk

Department providing advance notice of its intention to lay a Legislative Consent Memorandum in relation to the Childcare Payments Bill".

Based on this, the Committee for the Executive Office wishes to highlight the need for early and full engagement between departments and committees on matters which may involve seeking legislative consent from the Assembly in the future.

Yours sincerely

Marie Austin

Marie Austin, Clerk to the Committee for the Executive Office