

COMMITTEE FOR INFRASTRUCTURE MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

WEDNESDAY, 19 OCTOBER 2016

WATERWAYS IRELAND, ENNISKILLEN

Present: Mr William Humphrey (Chairperson)

Mr George Robinson MLA (Deputy-Chairperson)

Ms Kellie Armstrong MLA

Mr Alex Easton MLA
Mr Paul Girvan MLA
Mr Declan McAleer MLA
Mr Eamonn McCann MLA
Mr Fra McCann MLA
Mrs Jenny Palmer MLA

In Attendance: Mrs Cathie White (Assembly Clerk)

Mr Vincent Gribbin (Assistant Assembly Clerk)

Mr Johnny Lawless (Clerical Supervisor) Mrs Sharon Young (Clerical Officer)

Mr Daniel Lowe (Legislative Studies and Practice Student)

Apologies: Mr Daniel McCrossan MLA

Mr Justin McNulty MLA

10:32 am The meeting opened in public session.

1. Apologies

Apologies are detailed above.

2. Chairpersons Business

None.

3. Minutes of the meeting held on 12 October 2016

Agreed: The minutes of the meeting on 12 October 2016 were agreed.

4. Matters Arising

None.

5. Correspondence

 Departmental correspondence regarding the Equality Commissions Annual Report 2015-2016.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to note the correspondence.

• Correspondence from the Ards Peninsula Coastal Erosion Group providing an itinerary for the Committee visit on 23 November 2016.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to note the correspondence.

• Correspondence from the Committee for the Executive Office regarding the Draft Programme for Government 2016-21.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to note the correspondence.

• Correspondence from Mr Paul Duffy apologising for his non-attendance at Committee.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to note the correspondence.

• Correspondence from the Committee for Procedures regarding the development of the E-Petitions facility.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to note the correspondence.

- Departmental correspondence regarding The Departments (Transfer of Functions) (No.2) Order (Northern Ireland) 2016.
- Correspondence from The Executive Office to the Executive Committee regarding the proposed Departments (Transfer of Functions) (No.2) Order (Northern Ireland) 2016.

Agreed: The Committee noted the correspondence and agreed to receive a Departmental briefing on the Transfer of Functions legislation at its meeting on 26 October 2016.

 An Invitation from the Speaker to the Chairperson to attend an event to focus on the importance of the role Committee Chairpersons on Monday, 24 October 2016 at 5pm to 6.30pm.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to note the invitation.

6. Briefing from Waterways Ireland

10:35 am The representatives joined the meeting.

The Committee was briefed by Ms Dawn Livingstone, CEO Waterways Ireland and Mr Colin Brownsmith, Director of Finance and Personnel.

10:50 am Mr George Robinson joined the meeting.

10:51 am Mr Alex Easton joined the meeting.

10:59 am Mr Eamonn McCann joined the meeting.

The briefing was followed by a question and answer session.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to The Honourable The Irish Society seeking information on their role, remit and what assistance they provide, financial and otherwise, to the maintenance and the upkeep of waterways that they share with Waterways Ireland and what more they can do to assist Waterways Ireland.

11:46 am The representatives left the meeting.

7. Briefing from Fermanagh Community Transport

11:47 am The representatives joined the meeting.

The Committee was briefed by Ms Anita Flanagan, Manager, Fermanagh Community Transport, Mr Tim Cairns, Director for Policy and Public Affairs, Community Transport Association, Mr Paddy McEldowney, Chief Executive, Easilink Community Transport and Mrs May McCaffrey, Service User.

11:59 am Mr Alex Easton left the meeting.

11:59 am Mr Paul Girvan left the meeting.

The briefing was followed by a question and answer session.

Mrs Kellie Armstrong declared an interest as a former Director of the Community Transport Association.

Agreed: The representatives agreed to provide the Committee with a copy of the

Community Transport Association proposals to the Minister for Infrastructure for

the Integrated Transport Strategy.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Department requesting clarity around the

use of volunteers within the new Integrated Transport Strategy.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Department requesting information on the

Regulatory Framework for Community Transport in the rest of the UK and best

practice for using volunteers.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Department for Health requesting what

funding is on offer for Rural Community Transport initiatives given their integral

role in supporting the health and wellbeing isolated individuals.

Mr William Humphrey declared an interest as a member of the Scout Association.

12:37 pm The representatives left the meeting.

8. Departmental Briefing – Blue Badges

12:38 pm The Departmental officials joined the meeting.

The Committee was briefed by Mr Ciarán de Búrca, Director of Transport Projects Division and Mr Sean McConnell, Acting Head of Parking Enforcement Unit.

The briefing was followed by a question and answer session.

Agreed: The officials agreed to provide the Committee with regular updates on how the

backlog for Blue Badges is decreasing.

Agreed: The officials agreed to provide the Committee with an update on the options for a

change in the Blue Badge Scheme legislation to allow individuals with life-long

mobility issues to retain their badge for longer than 3 years.

1:13 pm The Departmental officials left the meeting.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Permanent Secretary of the Department

regarding the discrepancies in the figures quoted to the Committee at various meetings and in correspondence on the total backlog of Blue Badge applications

and the number of staff in the Blue Badge unit.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to issue a press release on the decreasing backlog in Blue

Badge applications.

9. Draft Forward Work Programme

The Committee considered the draft Forward Work Programme to December 2016.

Agreed: The Committee agreed the revised Forward Work Programme.

10. Any Other Business

None.

11. Date, time and place of next meeting

The Committee noted that the next meeting should be held on Wednesday, 26 October 2016 at 10:00 am in the Senate Chamber, Parliament Buildings.

1:17 pm The Chairperson adjourned the meeting.

Mr William Humphrey MLA Chairperson, Committee for Infrastructure

26 October 2016