

COMMITTEE FOR INFRASTRUCTURE MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

THURSDAY, 3 SEPTEMBER 2020

ROOM 29, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

Present: Ms Michelle McIlveen MLA (Chairperson)

Ms Martina Anderson MLA (Via Starleaf)

Mr Roy Beggs MLA Mr Cathal Boylan MLA

Mr Keith Buchanan MLA (Via Starleaf)

Mrs Dolores Kelly MLA

Mr Andrew Muir MLA (Via Starleaf)

Apologies: Ms Liz Kimmins MLA

Mr David Hilditch MLA (Deputy-Chairperson)

In Attendance: Mr Keith Mc Bride (Assembly Clerk)

Mr Vincent Gribbin (Assistant Assembly Clerk)

Mr Johnny Lawless (Clerical Supervisor)

The meeting commenced in open session at 10:04 am.

1. Apologies

As above.

2. Ministerial Briefing – Resumption of Driving Tests

The Minister and Departmental official joined the meeting at 10:04 am

Ms Nichola Mallon, Minister for Infrastructure Mr Jeremy Logan, Acting Chief Executive, DVA

The oral evidence session was reported by Hansard.

The Minister provided the Committee with an update by way of an opening statement.

A question and answer session followed.

Agreed: The Minister and her official agreed to provide the Committee with data on the

number of driving tests carried out from March – September 2019.

Agreed: The Minister and her official agreed to provide the Committee with information on

the number of trainee driving instructors and instructors who are able to resume

testing.

Agreed: The Minister and her official agreed to provide the Committee with the 5 year

average for those applying for driving tests during the months of September and

March.

Agreed: The Minister and her official agreed to provide the Committee with the options

available for reopening the Craigavon Test Centre.

Agreed: The Minister and her official agreed to provide the Committee with the options

available for dealing with the delayed driving tests.

The Chairperson thanked the Minister and Departmental official for their briefing.

The Minister and Departmental official left the meeting at 10:55 am.

3. Date, Time and Place of next meeting

The Committee agreed that the next meeting would be on Wednesday 16 September 2020 at 10:00 am in the Senate Chamber, Parliament Buildings.

The Committee adjourned at 10:59 am

Ms Michelle McIlveen MLA Chairperson, Committee for Infrastructure

16 September 2020