

# COMMITTEE FOR INFRASTRUCTURE MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

## WEDNESDAY, 12 FEBRUARY 2020

## THE SENATE CHAMBER, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

Present: Ms Michelle McIlveen MLA (Chairperson)

Mr David Hilditch MLA (Deputy-Chairperson)

Mr Roy Beggs MLA Mr Cathal Boylan MLA Mr Keith Buchanan MLA Mrs Dolores Kelly MLA Ms Liz Kimmins MLA Mr Andrew Muir MLA

Apologies: None.

In Attendance: Mrs Cathie White (Assembly Clerk)

Mrs Alison Ross (Assembly Clerk)

Mr Vincent Gribbin (Assistant Assembly Clerk)

Mr Johnny Lawless (Clerical Supervisor)

Mr Bill Kinnear (Clerical Officer)

The meeting commenced in open session at 10:07 am.

#### 1. Apologies

As above.

#### 2. Chairpersons Business

The Chairperson advised Members that she has received correspondence from a member of the public in relation to the shortcomings of the JustPark App and advised Members of the issues that have emerged around the data breach that have come to light.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to schedule a briefing from officials on the JustPark contract

and any variance from the previous contract.

#### 3. Draft Minutes

The Committee agreed the minutes of the meeting held on Wednesday 5 February Agreed:

2020.

### 4. Matters Arising

The Committee agreed to seek further detail on the categorisation of lakes as Agreed:

reservoirs by the Rivers Agency.

### 5. Correspondence

Correspondence from Mid Ulster District Council offering to host a Committee meeting in the Council locations in Mid Ulster.

The Committee agreed to note the correspondence. Agreed:

A copy of correspondence from Catalyst to the Minister congratulating her on her appointment and inviting her to visit one of its workspaces in Belfast or Londonderry.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to note the correspondence.

Correspondence from the Committee for Agriculture, Environment & Rural Affairs suggesting that the Committees organize a joint visit to Belfast and / or Larne Ports in relation to enhancing capacity and facilities to deal with the EU Exit.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to schedule a meeting in the Belfast Harbour Commissioners

Harbour Office into the Forward Work Programme.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to schedule a joint visit to a Northern Ireland sea port with the

Committee for Agriculture, Environment & Rural Affairs and Committee for the

Economy.

Correspondence from Pivotal congratulating the Chairperson on her appointment, providing a copy of its first report "Moving forward - putting Northern Ireland on track for the future" and requesting to brief the Committee.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to note the correspondence.

Correspondence from the Committee for Finance regarding the Budget Bill 2020 – Resource Requirements.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to forward related information from the Department and Arms

Length Bodies to the Committee for Finance once received.

### 6. Departmental Briefing – Brexit

The Departmental officials joined the meeting at 10:18 am

Ms Jackie Robinson, Director of Gateways & EU Relations

Mr Jim Sutherland, Head of Brexit Planning Team

Mr Donald Starritt, Head of Brexit Preparation Team

Mr Ciaran Crosbie, Head of Bus Policy

The Departmental officials provided the Committee with an overview of the Department's Brexit planning.

Agreed: The officials agreed to provide details of Action Plans on Blue Badges, parking

charges and Taxi licencing.

The Departmental officials left the meeting at 11:05 am.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to schedule a briefing with Departmental officials on the

legislative timetable regarding Brexit.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to schedule regular briefings on Brexit issues.

### 7. Departmental Briefing – Road Safety and Driver and Vehicle Regulation

The Departmental officials joined the meeting at 11:08 am

Mr Alex Boyle, Head of Vehicle Policy Branch

Mrs Beverley Cowan, Head of Driving Policy Branch

Mr Donald Starritt, Head of Brexit Preparation Team

Mrs Lynda Hurley, Head of Promotion and Outreach Branch

The officials provided the Committee with a briefing on road safety and driver and vehicle regulation.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to schedule a briefing with Departmental officials from the

Transport Regulation Unit.

Mr Hilditch MLA (Deputy-Chairperson) declared his interest as a member of the Carrickfergus Road Safety Committee.

Mr Muir MLA declared his interest as a former employee of Translink and former Councillor for North Down Borough Council

The Departmental officials left the meeting at 11:55 pm

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Justice Committee regarding mitigating

circumstances in the Courts allowing drivers to continue driving despite having

received 12 or more points on their licences.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Minister requesting information on the Department's timeline for a new Road Safety Strategy.

### 8. Departmental Briefing – Transport Policy & Public Transport

The Departmental officials joined the meeting at 12:00 pm

Ms Liz Loughran, Director of Transport Policy Mr Tom Reid, Director of Public Transport

The officials provided the Committee with a briefing on transport policy and public transport.

Agreed: The officials agreed to provide details of the costs of the Concessionary Fares Scheme.

Mr Boylan left the meeting at 12:25 pm.

Agreed: The officials agreed to provide details of the number of voluntary drivers in

Community Transport and Disability Transport Services.

Mr Hilditch left the meeting at 12:28 pm.

Agreed: The Departmental officials agreed to provide details of the £180 million capital

and revenue funding to Translink from the Department.

Mr Boylan rejoined the meeting at 12:30 pm. Mr Hilditch rejoined the meeting at 12:35 pm.

The Departmental officials left the meeting at 12:52 pm.

#### 9. Forward Work Programme

The Committee considered the Draft Forward Work Programme.

Agreed: The Committee agreed the Committee forward work programme as amended.

### 11. Any Other Business

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Minister requesting an update of the MOT

Centre situation.

# 12. Date, Time and Place of next meeting

The Committee noted that the next meeting will be held on Wednesday, 19 February 2020, at 10:00 am in the Senate Chamber, Parliament Buildings.

The Committee adjourned at 12:54 pm

Ms Michelle McIlveen MLA Chairperson, Committee for Infrastructure

**19 February 2020**