

Assembly COMMITTEE FOR INFRASTRUCTURE MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

WEDNESDAY, 11 NOVEMBER 2020

ROOM 29, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

Present: Ms Michelle McIlveen MLA (Chairperson)

Mr David Hilditch MLA (Deputy-Chairperson) Ms Martina Anderson MLA (Via Starleaf)

Mr Roy Beggs MLA Mr Cathal Boylan MLA Mr Keith Buchanan MLA Mrs Dolores Kelly MLA

Ms Liz Kimmins MLA (Via Starleaf)

Mr Andrew Muir MLA

Apologies: None

In Attendance: Mrs Alison Ross (Assembly Clerk)

Mr Vincent Gribbin (Assistant Assembly Clerk)

Mr Johnny Lawless (Clerical Supervisor) Mr William Kinnear (Clerical Officer)

The meeting commenced in open session at 9:33 am.

1. Apologies

As above.

2. Briefing from Wrightbus & Ryse Hydrogen – Northern Ireland Hydrogen Ambitions

The representatives joined the meeting at 9:34 am via StarLeaf.

Mr Jo Bamford, Chairman Mr Buta Atwal, Chief Executive

The representatives provided the Committee with an oral briefing.

The oral evidence session was reported by Hansard.

A question and answer session followed.

Mrs Dolores Kelly joined the meeting at 10:07 am.

Agreed: The representatives agreed to provide the Committee with a copy of their funding submission to the Executive when available.

Mr Andrew Muir declared an interest as a former employee of Translink.

Mrs Delores Kelly declared an interest as a family member is an employee of Wrightbus.

The Chairperson thanked the representatives for their attendance.

The representatives left the meeting at 10:42 am.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Minister for Infrastructure, Minister for the Economy and Minister for Finance raising the issues discussed during the briefing and requesting what consideration they have given to the creation of Hydrogen Hubs in Northern Ireland and possible funding avenues they have considered for Wrightbus to develop Hydrogen Hubs.

The Committee agreed to move to Agenda Item No. 4.

4. Chairpersons Business

None.

5. Draft Minutes

Agreed: The Committee agreed the minutes of the meeting held on Wednesday 4 November 2020.

6. Matters Arising

None.

7. Correspondence

Northern Ireland Water response to Committee request for information on the increased costs to NI Water of Brexit and Covid-19 pandemic.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to note the response.

Departmental response to Committee correspondence regarding issues arising from the Committee meeting on 21 October 2020.

Mr Roy Beggs left the meeting at 10:47 am.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Department asking it to ensure that the criteria used for considering applications to the new Taxi Funding Scheme have sufficient flexibility to ensure that appropriate applicants are not rejected on technicalities.

Police Service for Northern Ireland response to Committee correspondence regarding issues arising from the briefing on 7 October 2020.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to note the response.

Correspondence from the Minister for Infrastructure providing notification of consultation on Living with Water in Belfast, an Integrated Plan for Drainage and Wastewater Management in Greater Belfast.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to note the correspondence.

Copy of the Examiner of Statutory Rules, Twenty-sixth Report of the 2019-2020 Session.

Agreed: The Committee agreed note the report.

8. Subordinate Legislation – SL1's – Not Subject to Assembly proceedings

The Committee considered the following proposals for Statutory Rules not subject to any Assembly proceedings.

- SL1 The Parking Places (Disabled Persons' Vehicles) (Amendment No.2) Order (Northern Ireland) 2020
- SL1 The Parking Places (Disabled Persons' Vehicles) (Amendment No.3) Order (Northern Ireland) 2020
- SL1 The Parking Places (Disabled Persons' Vehicles) (Amendment No.4) Order (Northern Ireland) 2020

Agreed: The Committee agreed that it is content to note the proposals for the Statutory Rules.

9. SL1 - The Railways (Amendment) (EU Exit) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2020

The Committee considered SL1 - The Railways (Amendment) (EU Exit) (Northern Ireland) Regulations 2020.

Agreed: The Committee agreed that it is content to note the proposal for the Statutory Rule.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Department requesting information on what constitutes a technical amendment to a Statutory Rule and for an assurance that proposals coming before the Committee are appropriately highlighted and explained to ensure that there is no diminution of protections that are currently afforded as part of European Union legislation.

The meeting was suspended at 10:50 am

The meeting resumed at 11:20 am

Present:

Ms Michelle McIlveen MLA (Chairperson) Mr David Hilditch MLA (Deputy-Chairperson). Ms Martina Anderson MLA (Via Starleaf)

Mr Roy Beggs MLA Mr Cathal Boylan MLA Mr Keith Buchanan MLA

Mrs Dolores Kelly MLA (via Starleaf)

Ms Liz Kimmins MLA Mr Andrew Muir MLA

The Committee agreed to move to Agenda Item No. 3.

3. Briefing from the Ministerial Advisory Panel on Infrastructure

The representatives joined the meeting at 11:21 am via Starleaf.

Ms Kirsty McManus, Director, Institute of Directors
Ms Jenny Green, Director, Institute of Civil Engineers
Mr Craig McGuicken, Chief Executive, Northern Ireland Environment Link
Mr Richard Johnston, Associate Director, Ulster University Economic Policy Centre

The representatives provided the Committee with an oral briefing.

The oral evidence session was reported by Hansard.

A question and answer session followed.

The Chairperson thanked the representatives for their attendance.

The representatives left the meeting at 12:00 pm.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Central Procurement Department for

information on why they did not accept an invitation to engage with the Ministerial

Advisory Panel on Infrastructure on its consultation process.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Ministerial Advisory Committee with any

further questions they may have regarding the Panel's work.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Chair of the Union Connectivity Review to

establish if, under its terms of reference, there is any opportunity for the Committee

to feed into the Review.

10. Forward Work Programme

The Committee considered the Draft Forward Work Programme.

Agreed: The Committee agreed the Forward Work Programme.

11. Any Other Business

12. Date, Time and Place of next meeting

The Committee agreed that the next meeting would be on Wednesday, 18 November 2020 at 10:00 am in the Senate Chamber, Parliament Buildings.

The Committee adjourned at 12:01 pm

Ms Michelle McIlveen MLA Chairperson, Committee for Infrastructure

18 November 2020