

COMMITTEE FOR FINANCE

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

TUESDAY, 29 JUNE 2021

Starleaf Videoconference

Present by Video-conference:

Dr Steve Aiken OBE MLA (Chairperson) Mr Keith Buchanan MLA (Deputy Chairperson) Mr Jim Allister MLA Mr Pat Catney MLA Ms Jemma Dolan MLA Mr Philip McGuigan MLA Mr Maolíosa McHugh MLA Mr Matthew O'Toole MLA Mr Jim Wells MLA

Apologies: None

In Attendance: Mr Peter McCallion (Assembly Clerk) Ms Angela McParland (Assistant Assembly Clerk) Mr Stephen Magee (Clerical Supervisor) Ms Heather Graham (Clerical Officer)

The meeting commenced in closed session at 12:04pm.

1. Apologies

There were no apologies.

No Members delegated authority to vote under Temporary Standing Order 115(6).

2. Declaration of Interests

There were no declarations of interest made.

3. Committee Draft Report on an independent Fiscal Council for Northern Ireland

The Committee considered a second draft of the Committee Report entitled: 'An Independent Fiscal Council for Northern Ireland'.

Mr Jim Wells joined the meeting at 12:06pm Mr Pat Catney joined the meeting at 12:10pm

- *Agreed:* The Committee agreed amendments to its draft Report relating to: the Public Appointments process; the development of a macro-economic forecasting facility; and the reference to the balancing of budgets by the Executive.
- Agreed: The Committee agreed to finalise the Report at the meeting on 7 July 2021, as amended.
- *Agreed*: The Committee agreed that the finalised Report would be shared with the Minister and the Northern Ireland Fiscal Council and then be published immediately thereafter.

At the Chairperson's suggestion, the Committee recorded its thanks and appreciation to the Committee Clerk and the Committee Office team.

Mr Matthew O'Toole left the meeting at 12:28pm

4. Any Other Business

There was no other business.

5. Date, Time and Place of the Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Committee for Finance will be on Wednesday 30 June at 2:00pm in the Senate Chamber and on Starleaf.

The meeting was adjourned at 12:29pm.

Dr Steve Aiken MLA Chairperson, Committee for Finance 7 July 2021