

COMMITTEE FOR THE EXECUTIVE OFFICE

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS WEDNESDAY 25 JANUARY 2017 ROOM 30, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

Present:	Mr Mike Nesbitt (Chairperson)
	Mr Danny Kennedy (Deputy Chairperson)
	Mrs Pam Cameron
	Mr Stewart Dickson
	Mr William Irwin
	Mr Phillip Logan
	Mr Christopher Stalford
Apologies:	Mr Cathal Boylan
	Mr Seán Lynch
	Mr Philip McGuigan
	Mr Richie McPhillips
In Attendance:	Mrs Kathy O'Hanlon (Committee Clerk)
	Mr Neal Flanagan (Assistant Assembly Clerk)
	Mr Stephen Magee (Clerical Supervisor)
	Mrs Andrienne Magee (Clerical Officer)

The meeting began in public session at 2.02 pm.

1. Apologies

Apologies were noted as above.

Mr Stalford joined the meeting at 2.03 pm.

2. Chairperson's Business

End of Mandate Arrangements

The Committee noted that any Freedom of Information (FoI) requests addressed to the Committee received in the period between dissolution and the establishment of a new Committee will be dealt with by the Assembly's FoI Unit directly.

The Committee noted the request from the Assembly IS Office that tablet PCs and chargers be returned as soon as possible after the adjournment of the meeting.

Committee Invitations

The Committee noted that the T:BUC Engagement Forum meeting scheduled for 2 March 2017 had been cancelled.

3. Draft Minutes

Agreed: The draft minutes of the proceedings for the meeting of 18 January 2017 were agreed by the Committee.

4. Matters Arising

UK Exit from the EU

The Committee noted a paper prepared by the acting European Affairs Manager regarding a planned meeting of devolved Administrations in Scotland on 3 March to discuss the UK's exit from the EU.

Agreed: to forward the summary paper of the work that the Committee has undertaken to date to the Scottish Parliament Culture, Tourism, Europe and External Relations Committee to inform consideration of the agenda for the event on 3 March; and suggest they may wish to hear from Professor David Phinnemore and Dr Graham Gudgin at the event.

Outstanding Committee Correspondence

The Committee noted the current list of outstanding correspondence.

Mrs Cameron joined the meeting at 2.08 pm.

5. Historical Institutional Abuse – Panel of Experts on Redress

Representatives from the Panel of Experts on Redress joined the meeting at 2.11 pm.

Professor Patricia Lundy, Ulster University; Mr Patrick Corrigan, Amnesty International; Mr Jon McCourt, Survivors North West; and Ms Margaret McGuckin, Survivors and Victims of Institutional Abuse, gave evidence on the outcome of the Historical Institutional Abuse Inquiry Report and related matters.

A question and answer session followed.

The session was recorded by Hansard.

Agreed: the Committee strongly recommends that, should there be difficulty in constituting a permanent Executive after the election on 2 March, an Executive is established specifically for one meeting to discuss this matter and provide direction to senior civil servants on how the recommendations from the Inquiry Report should be taken forward.

Representatives from the Panel of Experts on Redress left the meeting at 3.12 pm.

Mr Stalford left the meeting at 3.12 pm.

The Committee moved to agenda item 7.

7. European Commission Work Programme 2017

The Committee considered papers prepared by the Committee Clerk regarding the European Commission Work Programme for 2017. Members noted responses received from statutory committees and other stakeholders.

Agreed:the Committee agreed its draft priorities for EU scrutiny.Agreed:to publish the papers and the responses received on the
Committee's webpage.

The Committee moved to agenda item 6.

6. Victims and Survivors – WAVE Trauma Centre Injured Group

Representatives from the WAVE Trauma Centre joined the meeting at 3.14 pm.

Mr Alan McBride, Manager, WAVE Trauma Centre; Mr Paul Gallagher, member of the Injured Group, WAVE Trauma Centre; and Mr Stuart Magee, Barrister, gave evidence on issues regarding a pension scheme for victims severely injured during the Troubles. Mr Stalford returned to the meeting at 3.22 pm.

Mr Stalford left the meeting at 4.02 pm.

A question and answer session followed.

The session was recorded by Hansard.

Representatives from the WAVE Trauma Centre left the meeting at 4.18 pm.

8. Correspondence

Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting

The Committee noted copy letters from the Northern Ireland Human Rights Commission to the former First Minister and the former deputy First Minister regarding the potential for the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting to be held in Belfast in 2018.

9. Any Other Business

The Chairperson thanked Committee staff for their work during the mandate.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 4.20 pm.

Mr Mike Nesbitt Chairperson Committee for the Executive Office