The Northern Ireland Assembly has been dissolved. The election will take place on Thursday 5 May 2016.

Minutes of Proceedings

Session: 2012/2013

Date: 05 February 2013

Venue: Room 144

The meeting began in closed session at 10.31am.  

 The Chairperson declared the meeting open to the public at 11.23am.

1. Apologies

  Apologies were as indicated above.

2. Welfare Reform Bill

The following officials from the Department joined the meeting at 11.24am:

  • Mr Michael Pollock
  • Ms Martina Campbell; and
  • Ms Jane Corderoy

Ms Paula Bradley joined the meeting 11.24am

The Committee discussed the potential way forward in compiling the Committee report on the Welfare Reform Bill with a focus on a series of recommendations that calls on the Minister to take the issues that have cost implications to the Executive for consideration and agreement.

The Committee and officials discussed the Minister’s response to a number of issues raised by the Committee on the Welfare Reform Bill.  A detailed discussion followed covering a range of issues including options for split Universal Credit payments and frequency of payments, Employment and Support Allowance and Sanctions.

The Committee agreed to receive a briefing from officials representing the Social Security Agency in relation to issues regarding the proposed frequency of Universal Credit payments. 

Mr David McClarty left the meeting at 11.42am

Mr Mark Durkan joined the meeting at 11.45am

Ms Paula Bradlety left the meeting at 12.02pm

Ms Paula Bradley re-joined the meeting at 12.10pm

Mr David McClarty re-joined the meeting at 12.10pm

The Committee agreed to return to the Minister’s response in the afternoon session for further consideration. 

This session was recorded by Hansard.

The Chairperson suspended at 12.32pm

The Committee reconvened at 1.41pm in public session

The Committee continued with further consideration of the Minister’s response to issues raised by the Committee on the Welfare Reform Bill.

Ms Paula Bradley re-joined the meeting at 2.04pm

Ms Pam Brown left the meeting at 2.09pm

Ms Paula Bradley re-joined the meeting at

This session was recorded by Hansard.

The Chairperson thanked the Departmental officials for their attendance at the meeting.

The Departmental officials left the meeting at 2.18pm

3. Date, time and place of next meeting

The next meeting will take place at 10:00am on Thursday 7 February 2013 in Room 29 Parliament Buildings.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 2.19pm.

Mr Alex Maskey
Chairperson, Committee for Social Development.
14 February 2013

Find former MLAs


Locate former MLAs


News and Media Centre


Read press releases, watch live and archived video

Find out more

Follow the Assembly


Keep up to date with what’s happening at the Assem

Find out more

Contact information


Contact us for further information about our work.

Contact us