Committee for Regional Development

Welcome to the Home Page of the Committee for Regional Development. The committee was established to advise and assist the Minister for Regional Development, Danny Kennedy MLA, on matters within his responsibility as a Minister. The committee undertakes a scrutiny, policy development and consultation role with respect to the Department for Regional Development and plays a key role in the consideration and development of legislation. The Committee Chairperson is Mr Trevor Clarke.

Here you will find information about the Committee membership and the work of the Committee.

Latest News

The Committee for Regional Development will hold its next meeting on Wednesday 20 May 2015 at 10:00am in Room 21, Parliament Buildings when the Committee will discuss Road Traffic Bill recommendations for Oral Evidence and Visits.

On 27 May the Committee will be briefed on Disability Action Transport Scheme. This will then be followed by an E-Car demonstration from the Department.


Forthcoming business will be published in the Business Diary.

Inquiry into the Benefits of Cycling to the Economy

The Committee recently undertook an Inquiry into the Benefits of Cycling to the Economy. You can view that Inquiry Report and Departmental Response here.

The Road Traffic (Speed Limits) Bill - Committee Stage

The Road Traffic (Speed Limits) Bill was introduced into the Assembly on 9 September 2013. The Bill successfully completed its Second Stage on 17 February 2015. The Bill has been referred to the Committee for Regional Development for its Committee Stage.

Click here for further information and to learn how you can submit evidence.

Follow us on twitter

Inquiry into the Coleraine to Londonderry Rail Track Phase Two Project

The Committee for Regional Development are commencing an Inquiry into the Coleraine to Londonderry Rail Track Phase Two Project.

The terms of reference can be found here.


Contact the Committee

Committee Clerk: Paul Carlisle

Room 254,Parliament Buildings Ballymiscaw,Stormont Belfast,BT4 3XX

Tel: (028) 9052 1063 Email:

Visit to Ballycraigy Primary School

The Committee for Regional Developments visit to Ballycraigy Primary School on the 14th January 2015.

Committee Members show support for Active School Travel Programme

The Committee for Regional Development visited Ballycraigy Primary School in Antrim on Wednesday 14th January 2015. Members received a presentation from Sustrans on the Active School Travel Programme and took the opportunity to meet with pupils involved in the Programme.

Chairperson of the Committee, Trevor Clarke MLA welcomed the opportunity to show support for the Programme: “It was very helpful to come to Ballycraigy Primary today and actually see and hear from the children how they have benefited from the programme. It is encouraging but not surprising that more children are walking and cycling to school because once people see the benefits of the programme, common sense prevails. For that reason the Committee are recommending the DRD ring-fence the budget for the Active School Travel Programme.”

Pictured at the meeting are: (l-r) Alex Easton MLA, Ross Hussey MLA, Trevor Clarke MLA (Chairperson of the Committee), Sean Lynch MLA (Deputy Chairperson), Chris Lyttle MLA and Stephen Moutray MLA.

Find Your MLA


Locate your local MLA

Find MLA

News and Media Centre


Read press releases, watch live and archived video

Find out more

Follow the Assembly


Keep up to date with what’s happening at the Assem

Find out more

Contact information


Contact us for further information about our work.

Contact us