The Northern Ireland Assembly has been dissolved. The election will take place on Thursday 5 May 2016.

Minutes of Proceedings

Session: 2011/2012

Date: 14 June 2011

Venue: Room 21

1.32pm The meeting opened in public session.

1. Apologies


1.33pm Mr Allister joined the meeting.

2. Minutes of the meeting held on 2 June 2011

Members noted the minutes of the meeting held on 2 June 2011. The minutes had been approved by the Chairperson so that an extract could be included in the Committee report.

3. Forward Work Programme

The Committee considered a proposed Forward Work Programme, plus a briefing paper prepared by the Clerk, which included options and recommendations for dealing with each of the items to be taken forward by the Committee.

1.35pm Mr Maginness joined the meeting. 

Agreed: The following amendments to the Forward Work Programme 
were agreed: 
(a) To begin consideration of the following items at the meeting 
scheduled to be held on 13 September 2011:

  • Standing Order 27 – Voting/Divisions
  • Standing Order 65(6) – Suspending a sitting for one hour

(b) To begin consideration of family friendly practices and the 
impact of late sittings at the meeting scheduled to be held on
11 October 2011.

Agreed: Subject to the above amendments, the Forward Work 
Programme was agreed.

Agreed: It was agreed that from September to December 2011, the 
Committee would meet on the second Tuesday of each month 
at 1.30pm.

4. Presentation from Standing Orders Draftsperson

1.40pm Ronan Cormacain, legislative drafter of Standing Orders, joined the
meeting and gave a presentation on ‘Quality in Standing Orders’, and outlined 
the work he carries out for the Committee. This was followed by a question 
and answer session.

The Committee agreed that research should be carried out into the arrangements for answering Members’ questions in other legislatures, 
compared with the Northern Ireland Assembly.

1.58pm Mr Allister left the meeting.
1.58pm Mr Gardiner left the meeting.
1.58pm Mr Lyttle left the meeting.
2.01pm Mr Clarke left the meeting.
2.04pm Lord Morrow left the meeting.

The Chairperson thanked Mr Cormacain for the presentation.

2.05pm Mr Cormacain left the meeting.

5. Any other Business


6. Date, time and place of next meeting

It was agreed that the next meeting of the Committee would take place on Tuesday, 13 September 2011 at 1.30pm in Room 21, Parliament Buildings.

2.07pm The Chairperson adjourned the meeting.

Sue Ramsey 
Chairperson, Committee on Procedures
13 September 2011

Find former MLAs


Locate former MLAs


News and Media Centre


Read press releases, watch live and archived video

Find out more

Follow the Assembly


Keep up to date with what’s happening at the Assem

Find out more

Contact information


Contact us for further information about our work.

Contact us