The Northern Ireland Assembly has been dissolved. The election will take place on Thursday 5 May 2016.

Minutes of Proceedings

Session: 2011/2012

Date: 25 October 2011

Venue: Room 29

The meeting opened in public session at 12.35 pm.

1. Apologies

Apologies are detailed above.

2. Chair’s Business

The Chairperson welcomed two new members of staff, Mr Jonathan Lawless and Ms Jane Hanna.

On behalf of the Committee, the Chairperson expressed his thanks to Colleges NI and Committee staff for the organisation of the Long Gallery Further Education Showcase Event on 24 October 2011.

3. Minutes of the meeting held on 19 October 2011

Agreed: The Committee agreed to defer consideration of the minutes of the meeting on 19 October 2011 until its next meeting on 9 November 2011.

4. Briefing from Departmental officials on the SL1 proposal for The Student Fees (Qualifying Courses and Persons) (Amendment) (No.2) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2011.

Officials joined the meeting at 12.40 pm.

The Committee was briefed by Mr Andrew Hamilton, Deputy Secretary, and Ms Claire Thompson, Head of Higher Education Student Finance – Future Policy, on the above SL1.

The briefing was followed by a question and answer session.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Minister to request further information on the legal advice received on this proposed legislation.

Officials left the meeting at 1.22 pm.

The Chairperson put the following question:

“That the Committee for Employment and Learning has considered the SL1 proposal for the Student Fees (Qualifying Courses and Persons) (Amendment) (No.2) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2011 and is content for the Department to proceed to make the Rule”.

The Committee divided: Ayes 6; Noes 3:

Mr Thomas Buchanan
Mr Sammy Douglas
Ms Michelle Gildernew
Mr Chris Lyttle
Mr David McIlveen
Mr Alastair Ross

Mr Jim Allister
Mr Basil McCrea
Mrs Sandra Overend

The question was accordingly agreed

1.34pm Mr Alastair Ross left the meeting.

1.34 pm Mr David McIlveen left the meeting.

5. Any Other Business

Agreed: The Committee agreed to contact the Department regarding the withdrawal of funding on the Step Ahead – Steps to Work programme.

6. Date, time and place of next meeting

Agreed: The Committee agreed that the next meeting should be held on Wednesday, 9 November 2011, at 10.00 am in Room 29, Parliament Buildings.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 1.38 pm

Mr Basil McCrea
Chairperson, Committee for Employment & Learning

9 November 2011

Find former MLAs


Locate former MLAs


News and Media Centre


Read press releases, watch live and archived video

Find out more

Follow the Assembly


Keep up to date with what’s happening at the Assem

Find out more

Contact information


Contact us for further information about our work.

Contact us