Press Release


The Northern Ireland Assembly Committee for Education has launched an Inquiry into Successful Post-Primary Schools Serving Disadvantaged Communities.

The aim of the Inquiry [1] is to look at examples of successful post-primary schools serving disadvantaged communities, to identify what makes these schools successful, and how similar success might be reproduced in other schools. The Inquiry will also consider underachievement in disadvantaged communities, including higher levels of underachievement of boys.

Launching the Inquiry, Chairperson of the Committee, Mr Mervyn Storey MLA said: “The Committee has already completed some very useful work on successful post-primary schools [2]. From what we have seen effective school leadership and positive engagement with parents and the wider community are key to these schools’ success.”

The specific Terms of Reference for the Committee’s Inquiry can be viewed here, including how to submit written evidence to the Committee as part of this Inquiry.

Notes to Editors

[1] Aim of the Inquiry: “To consider examples of successful post-primary schools serving economically and socially disadvantaged communities, identify the key characteristics/factors which contribute to their success and consider how they can be reproduced in schools where they are lacking.”

[2] As part of its preliminary work the Committee visited Belfast Boys’ Model School on 29 September 2010 and a copy of the press release for that visit can be viewed at:

Committee Membership:

Mr. Mervyn Storey (Chairperson) 
Mr. David Hilditch (Deputy Chairperson) 
Mr. Dominic Bradley 
Mrs. Mary Bradley 
Mr. Jonathan Craig 
Sir Reg Empey 
Mr. Trevor Lunn 
Mr. Basil McCrea 
Miss. Michelle McIlveen 
Mr. John O’Dowd 
Ms. Michelle O’Neill

The Clerk to the Committee is John Simmons 
Committee for Education, Rm 242, Parliament Buildings, Ballymiscaw, Stormont Belfast BT4 3XX 
Tel: 028 9052 1787 
Mob: 07900 053929 
Fax: 028 9052 1371 

Media enquiries to:

Jennifer Pleavin 
Communications Officer 
Northern Ireland Assembly 
Phone: 028 9052 1606 
Mobile : 07502 379339 

Sinead Murphy 
Deputy Communications Officer 
Northern Ireland Assembly 
Phone: 028 9052 5938 
Mobile : 07899 864368 

Find MLAs


Locate MLAs


News and Media Centre


Read press releases, watch live and archived video

Find out more

Follow the Assembly


Keep up-to-date with the Assembly

Find out more