The Northern Ireland Assembly has been dissolved. The election will take place on Thursday 5 May 2016.

Minutes of Proceedings

Session: 2011/2012

Date: 12 May 2011

Venue: Room 106

1. Introduction and Apologies

1.1 The Speaker welcomed all members to the first meeting of the Business Committee of the new mandate, particularly those new members attending Mr S Dickson and Mr R Swann. The Speaker also welcomed the new Deputy Speaker, Mr R Beggs, and Mr J Byrne who was attending in place of Mr C McDevitt.

1.2 Apologies were noted from Mr C McDevitt.

2. Finalisation of Order Paper for Plenary meeting on Monday 16 May 2011

2.1 Members considered the Draft Order Paper for Monday 16 May. Members noted that no official indication had been given that the parties would be in a position to run d’Hondt on that day. Following discussion, members agreed that the business of appointing Ministers and Chairpersons and Deputy Chairpersons of Committees should be possible on Monday 16 May.

2.2 Members therefore agreed to schedule a motion to suspend Standing Order 20(1) as there would be no Question Time.

2.3 Members also agreed to schedule the following business:

  • Appointment of Ministers;
  • Filling the Office of Minister of Justice;
  • Motion – Establishment of Statutory Committees;
  • Appointment of Chairpersons and Deputy Chairpersons of Statutory Committees; and
  • Appointment of Chairpersons and Deputy Chairpersons of Standing Committees.

2.4 Members agreed to suspend business for a period following the Filling of the Office of Minister of Justice to allow parties to give final consideration to the appointment of Committee Chairpersons and Deputy Chairpersons.

2.5 Members noted that in order for the motion on Appointments to the Assembly Commission to appear on the Order Paper nominations would be required by 10am on Friday 13 May 2011.

Private Members’ Business

2.6 Members agreed to schedule a Motion on a ‘Principal Deputy Speaker’ (P Weir, C Ní Chuilín). Members also agreed to allow up to one hour for the debate with 5 minutes to move, 5 minutes to wind and 3 minutes for all other speakers. Given the limited notice of the motion, it was agreed that amendments may be tabled up to 9.30am on Monday 16 May 2011.

2.7 Members agreed the Order Paper and noted that it would issue on Friday 13 May 2011.

3. Arrangements for Assembly Questions and Motions

3.1 Members noted arrangements for Urgent Oral Questions until the resumption of Ministerial Question Time on Monday 6 June 2011. Members agreed that Written Questions could be tabled following the Appointment of Ministers; and that motions could be tabled as soon as Members had taken their seats.

4. Question Time Rota until Summer Recess

4.1 Members agreed the rota for Oral Questions until summer recess as presented.

5. Rotas for Private Members’ Business

5.1 Members agreed the rota for Private Members’ Business as presented.

6. Any Other Business

6.1 Members noted that, following the appointment of Chairpersons and Deputy Chairpersons of Statutory and Standing Committees, the parties would meet to discuss Committee membership.

7. Date and Time of next meeting

7.1 Members agreed to meet at approximately 12.30pm on Tuesday 17 May 2011 in Room 106.

The Speaker brought the meeting to a close at 4.09pm.

Mr William Hay 

Find former MLAs


Locate former MLAs


News and Media Centre


Read press releases, watch live and archived video

Find out more

Follow the Assembly


Keep up to date with what’s happening at the Assem

Find out more

Contact information


Contact us for further information about our work.

Contact us