The Northern Ireland Assembly has been dissolved. The election will take place on Thursday 5 May 2016.

Minutes of Proceedings

Session: 2011/2012

Date: 28 June 2011

Venue: Room 21

The meeting opened at 11.05 a.m. in public session.

1. Apologies

As above.

2. Minutes of the last meeting.

Agreed: The Committee agreed the minutes of the Committee meeting held on Tuesday 7 June 2011.

3. Forward Work Programme

The Committee noted Clerk’s paper in relation to the forward work programme.

The Committee noted the submissions from the Alliance Party, Sinn Féin, the Social, Democratic and Labour Party and the Ulster Unionist Party.

Mr Campbell joined the meeting at 11.09 a.m.

The meeting was suspended at 11.12 a.m. to allow members vote in a division in plenary.

The meeting reconvened at 11.29 a.m. with the following Members present: Mr Pat Sheehan (Deputy Chairperson), Mr Roy Beggs, Mr Gregory Campbell, Mr Simon Hamilton, Mr Raymond McCartney, Mr Conall McDevitt, Mr Paul Maskey and Mr Mike Nesbitt.

Agreed: The Committee agreed that, prior to finalising its work programme, the Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson should meet the First Minister and the deputy First Minister. The purpose of the meeting would be to seek the views of the First Minister and deputy First Minister in relation to who should carry out a review of the arrangements for the appointment of the Minister of Justice; and to be provided by the First and deputy First Minister with an update on the Efficiency Review Panel.

Agreed: The Committee agreed that the Committee office should carry out provisional research on the issues surrounding the arrangements for the appointment for Minister of Justice.

4. Review of Judicial Appointments

The Committee noted the Clerk’s paper in relation to the Review of Judicial Appointments.

The Committee noted the letter from the Chairperson to the Chairperson of the Committee for Justice, acknowledging the agreement to transfer the responsibility and arrangements for the appointment and removal of judicial office holders from the Assembly and Executive Review Committee to the Justice Committee.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to issue the draft letter to the Chairperson of the Committee on Procedures requesting that Standing Order 59 (4a) be amended.

5. Date, time and place of next meeting

The next meeting of the Assembly and Executive Committee should be held on 13 September 2011, subject to the timing of the meeting with First and deputy First Minister.

The Deputy Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 11.59am.

Mr Pat Sheehan 
Deputy Chairperson, Assembly and Executive Review Committee

Find former MLAs


Locate former MLAs


News and Media Centre


Read press releases, watch live and archived video

Find out more

Follow the Assembly


Keep up to date with what’s happening at the Assem

Find out more

Contact information


Contact us for further information about our work.

Contact us