The Northern Ireland Assembly has been dissolved. The election will take place on Thursday 5 May 2016.

Minutes of Proceedings

Session: 2012/2013

Date: 16 May 2013

Venue: Room 29

5.59 p.m. The meeting commenced in Open Session

1. Apologies

The apologies are recorded above.

6.00 p.m. Mrs Dobson joined the meeting.

2. Hardship Scheme – Ministerial Briefing

The Minister and the following Departmental officials joined the meeting at 6.00 p.m.

Mr Noel Lavery, Permanent Secretary

Dr John Speers, Grade 3

Bert Houston, Chief Veterinary Officer

The Minister briefed the Committee on the Hardship Scheme and this was followed by a question and answer session.

Mr Swann declared an interest as a former Director of Rural Support.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Department to request clarification on the rate to be paid for cattle less than 96 months with progeny.

3. AOB

Agreed: The Committee agreed to host an evening reception for the RUAS to congratulate it on a successful first year at the new Balmoral Show site.

4. Date and time of the next meeting

Agreed: The next meeting of the Committee for Agriculture and Rural Development will take place on Tuesday 21 May 2013 at

1.30 p.m. in Room 30, Parliament Buildings.

The meeting adjourned at 6.55 p.m.

Paul Frew, Chairperson, Committee for Agriculture and Rural Development

Find former MLAs


Locate former MLAs


News and Media Centre


Read press releases, watch live and archived video

Find out more

Follow the Assembly


Keep up to date with what’s happening at the Assem

Find out more

Contact information


Contact us for further information about our work.

Contact us