The Northern Ireland Assembly has been dissolved. The election will take place on Thursday 5 May 2016.

Minutes of Proceedings

Session: 2011/2012

Date: 07 November 2011

Venue: Senate Chamber

12.04pmThe meeting commenced in Open Session

1. Apologies

Mr Conor Murphy MP MLA

Mr Robin Swann MLA

12.03pm Trevor Clarke joined the meeting.

2. Minutes

Agreed: The Committee agreed the Minutes of the meeting of 25 October 2011.

12.05pm Dolores Kelly joined the meeting.

3. Committee Motion

Noted: The Committee noted the letter from the Minister in relation to her plans to make a statement to the Assembly on Disallowance and Compliance issues on 21 November.

Noted: The Committee noted the Minister’s press release of 2 November 2011 on the disallowances in respect of SFP.

Kieran McCarthy declared an interest.

Noted: The Committee noted the previous Minister’s statement of 27 September 2010 and an extract from a General Report by C&AG published on 25 October 2011.

The following motion was proposed by Trevor Clarke for plenary debate on Monday 14 November, subject to Business Committee approval.

“The Assembly notes the latest announcement about EU financial corrections to be levied against the Department of Agriculture and Rural Development; is concerned about the potential effect on the Executive’s Budget; and calls on the Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development to make a full, and urgent, report, to the Assembly, on the extent of the financial corrections, the actions she is taking to address the issue of non-compliance and how, when and by whom, these monies will be repaid.”

Ayes: Paul Frew, Dolores Kelly, Trevor Clarke, Jo-Anne Dobson, William Irwin, Kieran McCarthy.

Noes: Willie Clarke, Oliver McMullan.

Agreed: The Committee agreed the motion as proposed.

4. Date of next meeting

Agreed: The next meeting of the Committee for Agriculture and Rural Development will take place on Tuesday 8 November 2011, at 1.30pm, in Room 30 Parliament Buildings.

The meeting was adjourned at 12.27pm

Paul Frew

Chairperson, Committee for Agriculture and Rural Development

Find former MLAs


Locate former MLAs


News and Media Centre


Read press releases, watch live and archived video

Find out more

Follow the Assembly


Keep up to date with what’s happening at the Assem

Find out more

Contact information


Contact us for further information about our work.

Contact us