Autism Champions

Ten members of staff in the Northern Ireland Assembly are trained as Autism Champions. Please contact the champion by e-mail if you are visiting Parliament Buildings and need any assistance before, during or after your visit.

Some things an Autism Champion will be able to help you with:

  • To be a point of contact for anyone with autism coming to Parliament Buildings and to meet visitors on their arrival.
  • To assist with your access arrangements and those of a personal assistant if you have one.
  • To answer questions for someone with autism.
  • To provide assistance to someone with autism who has come to the building, especially if the person is feeling stressed and perhaps needs a quiet area to calm down.
  • To provide information for someone with autism in a suitable format. For example if someone with autism is attending a meeting in Parliament Buildings they may require paperwork to be produced in a larger font or on different coloured paper. They may require further information such as why the meeting is being held and a list of attendees.
  • To assist visitors with any catering arrangements such as checking that the catering is suitable and that a quiet area is available for eating.

Autism Champions

 

Richard Anderson, Health and Safety Officer

Richard Anderson

richard.anderson@niassembly.gov.uk
 

Kristine Gillespie, Research and Library Services

Kristine Gillespie

kristine.gillespie@niassembly.gov.uk
 

Marion Johnson, Clerking and Reporting

Marion Johnson

marion.johnson@niassembly.gov.uk
 

Stephen Magee, Clerking and Reporting

Stephen Magee

stephen.magee@niassembly.gov.uk
 

Lucy McClelland, Education Office

Lucy McClelland

lucy.mcclelland@niassembly.gov.uk
 

Sarah Preece, Security and Usher Services

Sarah Preece

sarah.preece@niassembly.gov.uk
 

Christine Watts, Environmental Services Manager

Christine Watts

christine.watts@niassembly.gov.uk

 

Stephen Welch, Director of Facilities/Keeper of the House

Stephen Welch

stephen.welch@niassembly.gov.uk
 

Sinead Mulligan, Research and Library Services

Sinead Mulligan

sinead.mulligan@niassembly.gov.uk
 

Emma Gray, Events Office

Emma Thompson

emma.gray@niassembly.gov.uk

 

Roisin Fleetham, Outreach

Roisin Fleetham

roisin.fleetham@niassembly.gov.uk

 

Micky McCoy, Events Office

Micky McCoy

micky.mccoy@niassembly.gov.uk

 

Ursula McCanny, Assembly and Executive Review Committee

Micky McCoy

ursula.mccanny@niassembly.gov.uk

 

Find Your MLA

Locate your local MLA

Find MLA

News and Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live and archived video.

Find out more

Follow the Assembly

Keep up to date with what's happening at the Assembly.

Find out more

Subscribe

Enter your email address to keep up to date

Sign up