Press Release

Supermarket Fuel Pricing Policies Need More Consistency, says Committee

Session: 2013/2014

Date: Thursday, 17 October 2013

Reference: ETI 01/12/13

The Northern Ireland Assembly Committee for Enterprise, Trade and Investment today quizzed officials from Tesco, Asda and the NI Retail Consortium on their respective fuel pricing policies. This is following consideration of a Consumer Council report earlier this year that demonstrated inconsistencies in fuel prices between different locations in the same supermarket chain.

Chairperson of the Committee for Enterprise, Trade and Investment, Patsy McGlone MLA said: "Today's briefing arose as a result of information that the Committee had received earlier this year regarding quite substantial differences in fuel pricing across outlets in same supermarket chains. Consumers seem to be treated differently, solely based on the area in which they buy their fuel, and obviously, this is a cause of major concern.

"Although the evidence received today provided by Tesco, Asda and the NI Retail Consortium provided some clarity on their fuel pricing policies, the Committee is disappointed in the apparent lack of consistency when it comes to application of their policies. The Committee realises that there are factors outside of our control, such as wholesale fuel prices, taxation and location, which directly influence the price of fuel. However, when a retailer has a specific policy for fuel pricing, we'd like to see it consistently applied throughout an area."

Mr McGlone concluded: "The Committee wants to ensure that the consumer is being treated equitably, fairly and with transparency. As such, we have agreed to invite the UK's first independent Groceries Code Adjudicator (GCA) to the Committee in the near future. This briefing may be useful in order to establish a mechanism to ensure fair and best practice in the fuel supply chain."


Notes to Editors:

Committee Membership:

Mr. Patsy McGlone (Chairperson)
Mr. Phil Flanagan (Deputy Chairperson)
Mr. Sydney Anderson
Mr. Stephen Agnew
Mr. Sammy Douglas
Mr. Gordon Dunne
Mr. Paul Frew
Mr. Fearghal McKinney
Ms. Maeve McLaughlin
Mrs. Sandra Overend
Ms. Sue Ramsey

Find Your MLA

Locate your local MLA

Find MLA

News and Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live and archived video.

Find out more

Follow the Assembly

Keep up to date with what's happening at the Assembly.

Find out more


Enter your email address to keep up to date

Sign up