Press Release

Speaker Hosts Lecture on the Dublin Lock-out

Session: 2013/2014

Date: Monday, 16 September 2013

Reference: SO 01/13/14

The Speaker of the Northern Ireland Assembly, Mr William Hay MLA, hosted an event in Parliament Buildings this evening as part of the 'Perspectives On...' series agreed by the Assembly Commission to mark a decade of centenaries. The lecture - entitled 'Perspectives on the Dublin Lock-out and the Rise of the Labour Movement' - was delivered by Dr Emmet O'Connor, senior lecturer in history at the University of Ulster.

In attendance at the event were MLAs from a range of parties and trade union representatives.

The Speaker said: "It was a great pleasure to host this lecture in Parliament Buildings to mark this important event. The Dublin lock-out is a significant event in our labour history, and one that had far-reaching consequences for the labour movement. The lecture highlighted the role that trade unions have played over the past 100 years and, indeed, continue to play in society today.

"This is one of a number of anniversaries that the Assembly is marking as part of its 'Perspectives on...' series. It is important that we take time to reflect on the events that have shaped our history; it is through this reflection that we gain an understanding of the many different perspectives on events that have played a defining role in our past."


Speaker of the Northern Ireland Assembly, Mr William Hay MLA, hosted a lecture in Parliament Buildings on the Dublin Lock-out and the Rise of the Labour Movement. Pictured l-r are Assembly Commision Member Mr Pat Ramsey MLA; Mr Barry McElduff MLA; Culture, Arts and Leisure Minister, Ms Carál Ní Chuilín MLA; Speaker of the Northern Ireland Assembly, Mr William Hay MLA; Dr Emmet O'Connor, University of Ulster; Assembly Commission Member Mr Peter Weir MLA; and Mr Phil Flanagan MLA.


Notes to Editors:

The Northern Ireland Assembly Commission was appointed by resolution of the Assembly on the 23 May 2011.

The Commission is the body corporate of the Northern Ireland Assembly. It has the responsibility, under section 40(4) of the Northern Ireland Act 1998, to provide the Assembly, or ensure that the Assembly is provided, with the property, staff and services required for the Assembly to carry out its work.

The Members of the Commission are:
The Speaker, William Hay MLA (Chair), Judith Cochrane MLA, Leslie Cree MBE MLA, Pat Ramsey MLA, Caitríona Ruane MLA and Peter Weir MLA

Find Your MLA

Locate your local MLA

Find MLA

News and Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live and archived video.

Find out more

Follow the Assembly

Keep up to date with what's happening at the Assembly.

Find out more


Enter your email address to keep up to date

Sign up