Press Release

‘One of a Kind’ Investment Bank Briefs ETI Committee

Session: 2013/2014

Date: Thursday, 07 November 2013

Reference: ETI 03/13/14

The Northern Ireland Assembly Committee for Enterprise, Trade and Investment today received a briefing from a 'one of a kind' investment bank, the Green Investment Bank.

The Bank, which has £3.8 billion to invest, made its first investment in Northern Ireland of £20 million in July 2013 in Derry/Londonderry in The Evermore Project. The Project, which is expected to become operational during 2015, is forecast to be the largest renewable energy project in Northern Ireland, increasing the amount of renewable electricity currently generated in Northern Ireland by approximately 10%.

Speaking after the meeting, Chairperson of the Committee, Patsy McGlone MLA said: "The Green Investment Bank is an extremely innovative bank whose investments focus on accelerating private sector green investment – renewables generation, energy efficiency and waste. The fact that the Bank has recently made its first investment in The Evermore Project in Derry is a sign that the project has very real viability. The Committee is very optimistic about the renewable electricity that the Project can generate, and it couldn't have happened without the support from the Green Investment Bank.

Mr McGlone concluded: "Energy is becoming increasingly costly and limited, so we need to optimise our potential for renewable energy generation. I would encourage more local renewable energy businesses to engage with the Green Investment Bank, as it presents an excellent opportunity to develop and work on our renewable energy projects."


Notes to Editors:

Notes to Editor:

The Green Investment Bank is the first bank of its kind in the world. It is a "for profit" bank, whose mission is to accelerate the UK's transition to a greener economy, and to create an enduring institution, operating independently of Government.

Committee Membership:

Mr. Patsy McGlone (Chairperson)
Mr. Phil Flanagan (Deputy Chairperson)
Mr. Sydney Anderson
Mr. Stephen Agnew
Mr. Sammy Douglas
Mr. Gordon Dunne
Mr. Paul Frew
Mr. Fearghal McKinney
Ms. Maeve McLaughlin
Mr. Mitchel McLaughlin
Mrs. Sandra Overend

Find Your MLA

Locate your local MLA

Find MLA

News and Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live and archived video.

Find out more

Follow the Assembly

Keep up to date with what's happening at the Assembly.

Find out more


Enter your email address to keep up to date

Sign up