Press Release

More Consistency Needed in Supermarket Fuel Pricing, Says Committee

Session: 2012/2013

Date: Thursday, 11 April 2013

Reference: ETI 08/12/13

The Northern Ireland Assembly Committee for Enterprise, Trade and Investment today considered a Consumer Council briefing that demonstrated inconsistencies in fuel prices between different locations in the same supermarket chain.

Chairperson of the Committee for Enterprise, Trade and Investment, Patsy McGlone MLA said: "The Committee is aware that supermarket fuel pricing has a positive impact on general fuel price competition in a particular area. However, we are surprised and disappointed to see the quite substantial differences in fuel pricing across outlets in same supermarket chains. Consumers are being treated differently, solely based on the area in which they buy their fuel, and supermarkets must either provide justification to consumers for price variations between outlets or change their pricing policy.

"The Committee realises that there are factors outside of our control, such as wholesale fuel prices and taxation, which directly influence the price of fuel. However, we struggle to see an appropriate justification for such considerable fuel price differentials across the same supermarket retailer, based on geographical location. We learned today that sometimes prices varied by as much as 6 and a half pence per litre between two locations in the same retailer in the same week."

Mr McGlone concluded: "That is why the Committee today, after consideration of the data and supporting evidence, has agreed to write to the supermarkets concerned to obtain their reasoning for their fuel pricing policy. Having considered their responses, the Committee may wish to hear from the supermarkets at a future meeting. The Committee wants to ensure that we are doing all we can to help ensure that consumers are being offered the best possible price for petrol and diesel."


Notes to Editors:

Committee Membership:

Mr. Patsy McGlone (Chairperson)
Mr. Phil Flanagan (Deputy Chairperson)
Mr. Stephen Agnew
Mr. Gordon Dunne
Mr. Paul Frew
Mr. Alban Maginness
Ms. Maeve McLaughlin
Mr. Stephen Moutray
Mr. Robin Newton
Mrs. Sandra Overend
Ms. Sue Ramsey

Find Your MLA

Locate your local MLA

Find MLA

News and Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live and archived video.

Find out more

Follow the Assembly

Keep up to date with what's happening at the Assembly.

Find out more


Enter your email address to keep up to date

Sign up