Press Release

Crannog Site Provides Real Insight into Our Past, Says Committee

Session: 2012/2013

Date: Friday, 08 March 2013

Reference: ENV 08/12/13

Following a visit to The Drumclay Crannog earlier this week, the Northern Ireland Assembly Committee for the Environment recognised the need for the project's extension and emphasized the importance of the project to future generations.

Committee Members met with site project managers and saw first-hand some important artefacts that have been recovered from the dig.

Committee Chairperson, Anna Lo MLA, said: "Members are amazed at the degree of preservation of some of these artefacts at Crannog – they give a real opportunity to learn about the way in which our ancestors lived over the last 1200 years. We have a duty to future generations to collect as many artefacts from the site as possible, before it is destroyed for good.

"The Committee understands the Minister's call for an extension to this project – it should help to ensure that the site is fully excavated and all information is captured. However, we are very mindful of the pressures that are being placed on the Roads Service in order to ensure that roads in the area are fully functional in time for the G8 Summit in June. There is a delicate balance that must be made in order for both projects to live up to their full potential.

Ms Lo concluded: "The Minister is coming to the Committee on 12 March and will be asked to provide a briefing to the Committee on the site and project – we will be asking in particular for an explanation of the funding arrangements as we have some concerns about the process and any precedents that might have been set for future developments."

Notes to Editors:

The Committee for the Environment will be holding an extra meeting on Tuesday, 12 March for a Ministerial briefing, in which he will provide an update on the Crannog site. The Minister will also provide an update to the Committee on Local Government reform. Media are welcome to attend the meeting.

Committee Membership:
Ms Anna Lo MLA (Chairperson)
Mr Simon Hamilton MLA (Deputy Chairperson)
Mr Cathal Boylan MLA
Mr Alastair Ross MLA
Mr Colum Eastwood MLA
Mr Tom Elliott MLA
Mr Dolores Kelly MLA
Mr Barry McElduff MLA
Mr Francie Molloy MLA
Lord Morrow MLA
Mr Peter Weir MLA

Find Your MLA

Locate your local MLA

Find MLA

News and Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live and archived video.

Find out more

Follow the Assembly

Keep up to date with what's happening at the Assembly.

Find out more


Enter your email address to keep up to date

Sign up