Press Release

Committee addresses issue of roaming charges

Session: 2013/2014

Date: Thursday, 30 January 2014

Reference: CETI 07/13/14

The Assembly's Committee for Enterprise, Trade and Investment today questioned EU officials on abolishing roaming charges, an issue that is of particular concern to Northern Ireland.

The Committee quizzed Mr Vesa Terava, the senior official from the European Commission's DG CONNECT, which is the EU Directorate responsible for abolishing these charges by 2016.

The Committee is anxious that the EU Commission abolish roaming charges within the EU at the earliest possible date. Members questioned Mr Terava in detail in order to ascertain the work currently being done with mobile phone operators and heard, first hand, that DG CONNECT is very optimistic that Member States will support the proposal that roaming charges be abolished, however, a process on how to achieve this has yet to be developed. This will be a key issue for the Directorate over the coming months.

Speaking after the meeting, Committee Chairperson Patsy McGlone said: "I am very pleased the Committee was able to engage in this way with the senior DG CONNECT official today. Mobile phone users in Northern Ireland, particularly in border regions, can incur international roaming charges without ever leaving the jurisdiction – for some users without even leaving their homes.

"The sooner we move to abolish roaming charges for phone calls, texts and data and standardise mobile phone charges across the EU, the better it will be for consumers and businesses. A key aspect of this will be the investment in the infrastructure necessary to achieve this, especially in rural areas, and we urge the EU to ensure this takes place."

Notes to Editors:

The Committee held its evidence session by videoconference during its weekly meeting in Parliament Buildings.

Committee Membership:
Mr. Patsy McGlone (Chairperson)
Mr. Phil Flanagan (Deputy Chairperson)
Mr. Sydney Anderson
Mr. Steven Agnew
Mr. Sammy Douglas
Mr. Gordon Dunne
Ms. Megan Fearon
Mr. Paul Frew
Mr. Fearghal McKinney
Mr. Mitchel McLaughlin
Mrs. Sandra Overend

Find Your MLA

Locate your local MLA

Find MLA

News and Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live and archived video.

Find out more

Follow the Assembly

Keep up to date with what's happening at the Assembly.

Find out more


Enter your email address to keep up to date

Sign up