Press Release

Committee Welcomes Tougher Stance on Drink Driving

Session: 2012/2013

Date: Friday, 17 May 2013

Reference: ENV 12/12/13

The Committee for the Environment has welcomed the Minister's announcement that, under proposed new legislation, a minimum 3-year disqualification period for drink driving will apply to all repeat offenders, irrespective of alcohol levels.

The Department was considering two proposals for dealing with repeat drink-drive offenders with a blood alcohol level above the proposed new lower limit but below the old limit. The first proposal was the introduction of a graduated penalty scheme and the second was a 3-year disqualification. Following representations from the Committee, the Minister has now signalled that he will be taking forward the second, tougher option in the legislation — an automatic 3-year disqualification regardless of blood alcohol levels.

Chairperson of the Committee, Anna Lo MLA, said: "The Committee is very pleased that the Minister has taken on board its views on this issue. We have serious concerns that a graduated penalty scheme for repeat offenders would not be an effective deterrent. We also feel that a graduated scheme would be complicated and difficult to administer, and we are glad that this has been recognised. Most importantly, the Committee feels that a 3-year ban would show clearly that there is zero tolerance when it comes to drink driving.

Ms Lo concluded, "We want people to have confidence that Government is taking a strong stance on this issue. We have lost too many lives to drink driving over the years. Drivers must be sent a clear message that anyone who drives when over the limit will face tough sanctions."


Notes to Editors:

At present, any driver who commits a second drink-drive offence within a 10-year period will receive a minimum 3-year driving disqualification.

Committee Membership:
Ms Anna Lo MLA (Chairperson)
Mr Simon Hamilton MLA (Deputy Chairperson)
Mr Sydney Anderson MLA
Mr Cathal Boylan MLA
Mr Colum Eastwood MLA
Mr Tom Elliott MLA
Mr Dolores Kelly MLA
Mr Barry McElduff MLA
Mr Ian Milne MLA
Lord Morrow MLA
Mr Peter Weir MLA

Find Your MLA

Locate your local MLA

Find MLA

News and Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live and archived video.

Find out more

Follow the Assembly

Keep up to date with what's happening at the Assembly.

Find out more


Enter your email address to keep up to date

Sign up