Press Release

Committee Calls on Executive Action to Promote “Green” Economy

Session: 2012/2013

Date: Monday, 18 February 2013

Reference: ETI 06/12/13

The Northern Ireland Assembly Committee for Enterprise, Trade and Investment, put forward a motion today calling on the Executive to encourage and support growth in the sustainable and renewable energy sector.

Chairperson of the Committee, Patsy McGlone MLA said: "The Committee is very encouraged about the potential for growth in the green economy. We welcome the progress and work on renewable energy that the Executive has completed to date, but so much more needs to be done. For example, we could be doing more work to help establish a long-term vision for renewable energy in this region.

"The Committee has been fully engaged in the renewable energy agenda since the start of the mandate when it considered the Department's response to the previous Committee's inquiry into the barriers to developing renewable energy in this area, and made significant recommendations to both the Minister and the Executive. Most recommendations have been accepted, but it's the implementation that has been lagging. For instance, there are exciting opportunities for job creation and manufacturing in both renewable energy and energy efficiency and for us to be at the cutting edge of technological developments – the Committee wants to see action to see this vision realised."

Mr McGlone concluded: "We need a joined-up approach across government and an end to the delays. The Committee has called on the Executive to lead by example by backing renewable technologies and utilising the many prospects in this sector. The Committee's motion today signals our commitment to developing the green economy and to raise awareness to grow the sustainable energy sector. I encourage all Members to support the motion."

In the video below Patsy McGlone MLA discusses why this is important to the local economy.


Notes to Editors:

In February 2011, the Committee for Enterprise, Trade and Investment produced a report following its inquiry into the barriers to developing renewable energy. The report can be accessed here.

Committee Membership:
Mr. Patsy McGlone (Chairperson)
Mr. Phil Flanagan (Deputy Chairperson)
Mr. Stephen Agnew
Mr. Gordon Dunne
Mr. Paul Frew
Mr. Alban Maginness
Ms. Maeve McLaughlin
Mr. Stephen Moutray
Mr. Robin Newton
Mrs. Sandra Overend
Ms. Sue Ramsey

Find Your MLA

Locate your local MLA

Find MLA

News and Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live and archived video.

Find out more

Follow the Assembly

Keep up to date with what's happening at the Assembly.

Find out more


Enter your email address to keep up to date

Sign up