Press Release

Committee Addresses EU’s Common Agricultural Policy (CAP)

Session: 2012/2013

Date: Tuesday, 19 March 2013

Reference: AGR 04/12/13

The Assembly Committee for Agriculture and Rural Development has welcomed the opportunity to participate in a recent conference for the Parliamentary Agriculture and Fisheries Committees of EU Member States in Dublin.

The conference concentrated on issues such as the Common Agricultural Policy (CAP) including encouraging young farmers into the industry and a reform of Common Fisheries Policy for Europe.

Deputy Chairperson, Joe Byrne MLA said: "I am delighted to have represented the Committee at the conference. The Republic of Ireland currently holds the Presidency of the EU, so this is a rare opportunity to discuss issues around agriculture and fisheries and make a noticeable impact on policy.

"The support that is currently available to young farmers to enter the industry has long been an issue that the Committee has been following and access to land and credit is a major concern. In relation to the Common Fisheries Policy, more research and development is needed for advancement in selective fishing gear, especially to suit local waters. These are the matters that I raised on behalf of the Committee during deliberations with EU Commissioners and Ministers in the South.

"This conference provided a unique opportunity for the Committee to gain an insight into what is happening on the ground in Europe and engage directly with policy-makers. I was proud to represent the Committee and put our concerns and views forward."

Committee Chairperson, Paul Frew MLA said: "Northern Ireland benefits significantly from the Common Agriculture Policy (CAP), which encompasses support to farmers and rural development. Therefore, I am very pleased that the Committee was invited and was able to participate in this very important conference."


Notes to Editors:

Committee Membership:

Mr Paul Frew – Chairperson
Mr Joe Byrne – Deputy Chairperson
Mr Thomas Buchanan
Mr Trevor Clarke
Mrs Jo-Anne Dobson
Mr Chris Hazzard
Mr William Irwin
Mr Declan McAleer
Mr Kieran McCarthy
Mr Oliver McMullan
Mr Robin Swann 

Find Your MLA

Locate your local MLA

Find MLA

News and Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live and archived video.

Find out more

Follow the Assembly

Keep up to date with what's happening at the Assembly.

Find out more


Enter your email address to keep up to date

Sign up