Press Release

Committee Welcomes Briefing From New Chair of Agri-Food Strategy Board

Session: 2011/2012

Date: Tuesday, 26 June 2012

Reference: AGR 16/11/12

The Assembly Agriculture and Rural Development Committee welcomed Tony O’Neill, new Chairperson of the Agri-food Strategy Board to its meeting this afternoon (Tuesday 26 June).  

Mr O’Neill briefed the Committee on his plans for the Board and outlined what it will be focusing on over the coming months.

Committee Chair, Paul Frew said: The Agri-food sector in Northern Ireland has great potential for further growth and it will be important for Tony and the rest of the Board to maximise this in order to boost the local economy.  The Committee welcomes the appointment of Tony O’Neill as Chairperson to the Agri-food Strategy Board and wishes him well in his new role.” 

“The Agri-food Strategy Board will play a key role in the development of the sector which will hopefully have a positive effect on our local farmers and rural communities.  We look forward to welcoming Mr O’Neill to future Committee briefings to hear more about the Board’s plans and achievements.

The Agri-food Board was set up jointly by the Department of Agriculture and Rural Development and the Department of Enterprise, Trade and Investment to develop a strategic plan for the agri-food sector. 

Notes to Editors:

Committee Membership:
Mr Paul Frew – Chairperson
Mr Joe Byrne – Deputy Chairperson
Mr Thomas Buchanan
Mr Trevor Clarke
Mr Willie Clarke
Mrs Jo-Anne Dobson
Mr William Irwin
Mr Kieran McCarthy
Mr Oliver McMullan
Ms Michaela Boyle
Mr Robin Swann

Find Your MLA

Locate your local MLA

Find MLA

News and Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live and archived video.

Find out more

Follow the Assembly

Keep up to date with what's happening at the Assembly.

Find out more


Enter your email address to keep up to date

Sign up