Press Release

Committee Responds to Review of Libraries Opening Hours

Session: 2011/2012

Date: Thursday, 19 January 2012

Reference: CAL 05/11/12

The Northern Ireland Assembly Committee for Culture, Arts and Leisure welcomes today’s announcement from Libraries NI regarding the impact that additional funding, recently secured from the Minister, will have on library opening hours.

Committee Chairperson, Michelle McIlveen, said: “The Committee acknowledges that the additional funding of £2.39m will go some way to relieve the pressure on Libraries NI in terms of reducing library opening hours. It came as a result of the huge response to the consultation on opening hours which the Committee, as well as local communities and action groups, contributed to, highlighting the positive contribution that libraries make to our communities.

The Committee acknowledges that Libraries NI has been faced with some very difficult financial decisions, and although today’s announcement will be seen as positive by many libraries, it will  also be disappointing for those local communities who will see a reduction in opening hours.

Throughout the process, the Committee repeatedly sought assurances from Libraries NI that the needs of local library users will be paramount in any discussions. Before implementing its decisions, Libraries NI must now engage in meaningful consultations with people in these affected areas to identify tailored patterns of opening hours which best suit their needs.”

The Committee has also called on Libraries NI to ensure that any reduction in opening hours will not impact negatively on the future viability of libraries, particularly those libraries which have recently been given a reprieve from closure but which are still subject to further review.

Library services will remain a priority for the Committee in 2012 and it will continue to hold Libraries NI to account.


Notes to Editors:

Committee Membership:

The Chairperson of the Committee is Ms Michelle McIlveen MLA.

The Deputy Chairperson is Mr William Irwin MLA

The Committee has a further nine members:

Mr Dominic Bradley MLA
Mrs Brenda Hale MLA
Mr David Hilditch MLA
Mr Michael McGimpsey MLA
Ms Karen McKevitt MLA
Mr Oliver McMullan MLA1
Mr Cathal Ó hOisín MLA
Mr Pat Sheehan MLA
Mr Robin Swann MLA

1 With effect from 12 September 2011 Mr Oliver McMullan replaced Mr Gerry Kelly

The Clerk to the Committee is Lucia Wilson

Committee Office
Northern Ireland Assembly
Room 344 Parliament Buildings
Stormont Estate, Ballymiscaw
Belfast BT4 3XX
Telephone: 028 90 521620
Fax: 028 90 521355
E Mail:

Find Your MLA

Locate your local MLA

Find MLA

News and Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live and archived video.

Find out more

Follow the Assembly

Keep up to date with what's happening at the Assembly.

Find out more


Enter your email address to keep up to date

Sign up