Press Release

Committee Chair Welcomes A5 Report

Session: 2011/2012

Date: Tuesday, 31 July 2012

Reference: CRD 09/11/12

Chairman of the Northern Ireland Assembly Committee for Regional Development, Mr Jimmy Spratt MLA, has today welcomed the publication of the inspectors report on the proposed A5.

Speaking on behalf of the Committee following the Ministers announcement, the Chairperson said: “The Committee has maintained a very active interest in this proposed transport corridor over the past 18 months or so and I am pleased that the report of the public inquiry has now been published.

“In accepting the report recommendations, the Minister has taken a pragmatic approach to the proposed scheme which will bring much-needed and significant investment in jobs within the construction industry whilst at the same time listening to the arguments made by those opposed to the Aughnacloy section of the scheme.

“It is important that the contractors cooperate with the landowners and that landowners are adequately compensated for their property and any inconvenience during the construction process.”

The Committee will discuss the outcomes of the report in more detail at the special committee meeting being held in Parliament Buildings on Wednesday, 1 August 2012.


Notes to Editors:

Committee Membership:

The Chairperson of the Committee is Jimmy Spratt MLA
The Deputy Chairperson is Sean Lynch MLA

The Committee has a further nine members:

John Dallat MLA
Stewart Dickson MLA
Ross Hussey MLA
Dolores Kelly MLA
Ian McCrea MLA
David McNarry MLA
Stephen Moutray MLA
Cathal Ó hOisín MLA

Find Your MLA

Locate your local MLA

Find MLA

News and Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live and archived video.

Find out more

Follow the Assembly

Keep up to date with what's happening at the Assembly.

Find out more


Enter your email address to keep up to date

Sign up