Press Release

Assembly Committee Urges Nominations for Olympic Torch Carriers

Session: 2011/2012

Date: Thursday, 16 June 2011

Reference: CAL 01/11/12

The Northern Ireland Assembly Committee for Culture, Arts and Leisure is urging local communities and individuals to nominate people to carry the Olympic flame when it comes to Northern Ireland in June 2012.

Nominees should come from all walks of life and should be inspirational role models.  It could be an ordinary person undertaking extraordinary activities. The closing date for nominations is 29 June 2011.

The relay’s final route has still to be decided, but Portrush, Londonderry, Newry and Belfast will host the torch overnight.

Committee Chairperson, Michelle McIlveen MLA said: “The Committee is delighted that Northern Ireland will host the Olympic flame as part of the Olympic Torch Relay event next June.

“Around 600 people are needed to carry the torch as part of the event. The Committee knows that Northern Ireland is home to many worthy and inspirational people who deserve to take part in this once in a lifetime opportunity. Nominees may be a sporting coach or a community worker, or even a close friend. We encourage everyone to think about someone they know who has touched their life, and to nominate them before the closing date.

“This is a magnificent opportunity for people to show their appreciation to those individuals, and to provide that person with an amazing opportunity to be a part of one the biggest sporting events in the world.”

Nominations can be made online by visiting or by calling the L ondon 2012 Olympic Torch Relay Helpline on 0800 111 6448 . 

Notes to Editors:

Committee Membership:

The Chairperson of the Committee is Ms Michelle McIlveen MLA.
The Deputy Chairperson is Mr William Irwin MLA

The Committee has a further nine members:

Mr Dominic Bradley MLA
Mrs Brenda Hale MLA
Mr David Hilditch MLA
Mr Gerry Kelly MLA
Mr Michael McGimpsey MLA
Ms Karen McKevitt MLA
Mr Cathal Ó hOisín MLA
Mr Pat Sheehan MLA
Mr Robin Swann MLA

The Clerk to the Committee is Lucia Wilson
Committee Office
Northern Ireland Assembly
Room 344 Parliament Buildings
Stormont Estate, Ballymiscaw
Belfast BT4 3XX
Telephone: 028 90 521620
Fax: 028 90 521355
E Mail:

Find Your MLA

Locate your local MLA

Find MLA

News and Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live and archived video.

Find out more

Follow the Assembly

Keep up to date with what's happening at the Assembly.

Find out more


Enter your email address to keep up to date

Sign up