Press Release

New School Is Top Class - Assembly Committee Visits Belfast Boys' Model

Session: 2011/2012

Date: Wednesday, 29 September 2010

Reference: EDU 01/10/11

The Northern Ireland Assembly Committee for Education today (29 September 2010) visited the newly constructed Belfast Boys’ Model School to see first hand the excellent range of facilities available to students, their families and members of the local community. 

The new school accommodation includes a number of innovative amenities such as state of the art indoor and outdoor sports facilities, a performing arts theatre and a suite of fully integrated Information Technology rooms. A health clinic and a range of health promotional initiatives and programmes will also be made available to individuals and groups in the local area. 

The Committee Chairperson, Mervyn Storey MLA said: “The Committee was delighted to visit Belfast Boys’ Model today and view the impressive new accommodation. We saw a balance of academic and extra-curricular opportunities which are designed to benefit not only pupils but parents and members of the local community.’

 “Schools have a central role to play in nurturing and enhancing future opportunities for our young people and the Committee is keenly interested in initiatives such as the Full Service Community Schools scheme in operation at the Boys’ and Girls’ Model Schools.”

Notes to Editors:

The Principal of Belfast Boys’ Model School is Mr J. Keith, Belfast Boys’ Model School, Ballysillan Road, Belfast, N. Ireland, BT14 6RB.

In September 2007 the Minister of Education attended a celebration of the Boys’ Model and Girls’ Model becoming the first Full Service Schools to become operational. A copy of the DE News Release is attached below. 

Committee Membership:

Mr. Mervyn Storey (Chairperson) 
Mr. David Hilditch (Deputy Chairperson)
Mr. Dominic Bradley
Mrs. Mary Bradley
Mr. Jonathan Craig
Mr. Trevor Lunn
Mr. John McCallister 
Mr. Basil McCrea
Miss. Michelle McIlveen
Mr. John O’Dowd
Ms. Michelle O’Neill

The Clerk to the Committee is John Simmons 
Committee for Education, Rm 242, Parliament Buildings, Ballymiscaw, 
Stormont Belfast BT4 3XX 
Tel: 028 9052 1787 
Mob: 07900 053929 
Fax: 028 9052 1371 

Find Your MLA

Locate your local MLA

Find MLA

News and Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live and archived video.

Find out more

Follow the Assembly

Keep up to date with what's happening at the Assembly.

Find out more


Enter your email address to keep up to date

Sign up