Press Release

Committee Supports Efforts To Attract Olympic Teams

Session: 2011/2012

Date: Friday, 28 January 2011

Reference: CAL 08/10/11

The Northern Ireland Assembly Committee for Culture, Arts and Leisure has pledged to work in close partnership with the DCAL and Sport NI to attract international teams to train here before they take part in the 2012 Olympics.

Following a briefing by the Minister of Culture, Arts and Leisure, his officials and Professor Eamon McCartan, Chief Executive of Sport NI , at yesterday’s Committee meeting at Mossley Mill, Newtownabbey, the Committee is encouraged by the ongoing efforts of the Department and Sport NI to promote Northern Ireland as a training base for international teams participating in the London Games.

Committee Chairperson, Barry McElduff MLA said: “As a Committee we are positive and hopeful that teams will choose to come here and train in preparation for the 2012 Olympics. In this sense there is still a lot to play for and we would welcome the opportunity to showcase our local culture and fantastic environment to other regions and countries.  

“The Olympic Torch Relays will be touring a number of towns and cities here and will undoubtedly receive a great response from local people, and we look forward to those events.”

Notes to Editors:

During the visit, the Committee will receive briefings from the Department of Culture, Arts and Leisure on its consultation responses to the draft Museums Policy and European Union Engagement.

The new development at Mossley Mill includes a museum, theatre, angling fisheries and conference suite. The site will also to be incorporated into Three Mile Water Park which starts at Whiteabbey and ends at Carr’s Corner.

Committee Membership:

The Chairperson of the Committee is Mr. Barry McElduff MLA. 
The Deputy Chairperson is Mr. Declan O’Loan MLA

The Committee has a further nine members:

Mr Thomas Burns MLA 
The Lord Browne MLA 
Mr David Hilditch MLA 
Mr William Humphrey MLA 
Mr Billy Leonard MLA 
Mr Kieran McCarthy MLA 
Mr David McClarty MLA 
Mr Pat Sheehan MLA 
Mr Ken Robinson MLA

The Clerk to the Committee is Lucia Wilson

Committee Office 
Northern Ireland Assembly 
Room 344 Parliament Buildings 
Stormont Estate, Ballymiscaw
Belfast BT4 3XX
Telephone: 028 90 521620 
Fax: 028 90 521355 
E Mail:

Find Your MLA

Locate your local MLA

Find MLA

News and Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live and archived video.

Find out more

Follow the Assembly

Keep up to date with what's happening at the Assembly.

Find out more


Enter your email address to keep up to date

Sign up