Press Release

Assembly Committee Learns About Schools' Success

Session: 2011/2012

Date: Wednesday, 19 January 2011

Reference: EDU 05/10/11

Belfast Model School for Girls hosted a meeting of the Northern Ireland Assembly Committee for Education today (19 January 2011). The meeting focussed on the Committee’s Inquiry ‘Successful Post-Primary Schools Serving Disadvantaged Communities’.

As well as Girls’ Model, representatives from three other schools - Ashfield Boys’ High School, St Louise’s Comprehensive College and Coláiste Feirste attended the meeting and presented their thoughts to MLAs on what makes their school successful.

Committee Chairperson, Mervyn Storey MLA said: “The Committee was delighted to visit Belfast Model School for Girls today and to hear first hand from four different Belfast schools about the excellent work they are doing in what are often challenging circumstances. We have already received some very useful information on our Inquiry, and to speak to pupils and teachers directly on these issues has been incredibly valuable.

“To visit Belfast Model School for Girls is of particular interest because it is a Full Service School providing support for pupils and parents and the local community to work together.

“The Full Service Schools scheme supports schools to work with voluntary and statutory agencies and local communities to offer a range of services to young people, their families and the wider community such as adult learning classes, vocational classes and parental and pupil support.”

Notes to Editors:

Further information about the Committee for Education’s Inquiry - including the Terms of Reference - can be found on the Inquiry website:

The Principal of Belfast Model School for Girls is Mr J.Graham, Belfast Model School for Girls, Dunowen Gardens, Belfast, N. Ireland, BT14 6NQ.

In September 2007 the Minister of Education attended a celebration of the Boys’ Model and Girls’ Model becoming the first Full Service Schools to become operational. A copy of the DE News Release can be found at: .

Committee Membership:

Mr. Mervyn Storey (Chairperson) 
Mr. David Hilditch (Deputy Chairperson) 
Mr. Dominic Bradley 
Mrs. Mary Bradley 
Mr. Jonathan Craig 
Mr. Trevor Lunn 
Sir Reg Empey 
Mr. Basil McCrea 
Miss. Michelle McIlveen 
Mr. John O’Dowd 
Ms. Michelle O’Neill

The Clerk to the Committee is John Simmons 
Committee for Education, Rm 242, Parliament Buildings, Ballymiscaw, Stormont Belfast BT4 3XX 
Tel: 028 9052 1787 
Mob: 07900 053929 
Fax: 028 9052 1371 

Find Your MLA

Locate your local MLA

Find MLA

News and Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live and archived video.

Find out more

Follow the Assembly

Keep up to date with what's happening at the Assembly.

Find out more


Enter your email address to keep up to date

Sign up