Press Release

Assembly Committee Calls for Arts and Heritage Support

Session: 2011/2012

Date: Monday, 24 January 2011

Reference: CAL 07/10/11

The Northern Ireland Assembly Committee for Culture, Arts and Leisure will call on investors to recognise the role that arts and heritage can play in stimulating the local economy.

The message comes as the Committee is to hold a meeting, on 27 January, in the recently completed Mossley Mill Civic and Cultural development in Newtownabbey.

Speaking before the meeting, Committee Chairperson, Barry McElduff MLA said: “As a Committee we are aware that the Department for Culture, Arts and Leisure is one of the hardest hit departments in the recently announced Executive’s Draft Budget for 2011-2015.

“However, we ask the Executive and the private sector not to ignore the great economic potential there is in heritage tourism, cultural activities and the arts. Statistics show that theatre attendances are up in London’s West End, despite the recession, as people give themselves a treat in these tough times.

“Many visitors from overseas come here in search of a real cultural experience and to explore our vast heritage and it is therefore important that the Executive supports the sector and the fantastic assets we have to offer.”

Notes to Editors:

During the visit, the Committee will receive briefings from the Department of Culture, Arts and Leisure on its consultation responses to the draft Museums Policy and European Union Engagement.

The new development at Mossley Mill includes a museum, theatre, angling fisheries and conference suite. The site will also to be incorporated into Three Mile Water Park which starts at Whiteabbey and ends at Carr’s Corner.

Committee Membership:

The Chairperson of the Committee is Mr. Barry McElduff MLA. 
The Deputy Chairperson is Mr. Declan O’Loan MLA

The Committee has a further nine members:

Mr Thomas Burns MLA 
The Lord Browne MLA 
Mr David Hilditch MLA 
Mr William Humphrey MLA 
Mr Billy Leonard MLA 
Mr Kieran McCarthy MLA 
Mr David McClarty MLA 
Mr Pat Sheehan MLA 
Mr Ken Robinson MLA

The Clerk to the Committee is Lucia Wilson

Committee Office 
Northern Ireland Assembly 
Room 344 Parliament Buildings 
Stormont Estate, Ballymiscaw
Belfast BT4 3XX
Telephone: 028 90 521620 
Fax: 028 90 521355 
E Mail:

Find Your MLA

Locate your local MLA

Find MLA

News and Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live and archived video.

Find out more

Follow the Assembly

Keep up to date with what's happening at the Assembly.

Find out more


Enter your email address to keep up to date

Sign up