Press Release

Stormont Committee continuing to discuss Work On ‘Devolution’

Session: 2008/2009

Date: Tuesday, 14 October 2008

Reference: AER- 03/08/09

The Assembly and Executive Review Committee continued its discussions, today, on the devolution of policing and justice matters.

The Chairperson, Mr. Jimmy Spratt, MLA confirmed that the Committee agreed a list of issues which it would look at and which need to be resolved, pre-devolution. The Committee also agreed, by a majority decision, that it would seek to prepare a report on those issues in mid November 2008, and which would be tabled in the Assembly.

Notes to Editors:

The Northern Ireland Assembly has established a Standing Committee known as the Assembly and Executive Review Committee.

Membership of the Committee is as follows:


Mr Jimmy Spratt

Deputy Chairperson:

Mr Raymond McCartney

Committee Members:

Mr Alex Attwood


Mrs Carmel Hanna
Mr Simon Hamilton


Mr Danny Kennedy


Mr Nelson McCausland
Mr Alan McFarland
Mr Alex Maskey
Mr John O’Dowd
Mr Ian Paisley Jnr

The Committee meets in Parliament Buildings and visitors are welcome to attend open sessions. Members of the public are advised to check the website for details of meetings prior to arriving at Parliament Buildings.

Find Your MLA

Locate your local MLA

Find MLA

News and Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live and archived video.

Find out more

Follow the Assembly

Keep up to date with what's happening at the Assembly.

Find out more


Enter your email address to keep up to date

Sign up